We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was only good”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Cardiff, UK
1 review
“It was only good”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The room we were given was tiny but clean. Can't really expect much as I did pay for the cheapest available hotel at the very last minute. There are lifts to all levels but the room we were given was at the back and we had to carry our suitcases down and up 2 flights of stairs to get to our room. The stairs were narrow and really clumpsy and hard to go up and down easily. Otherwise, there was nothing wrong with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank pepermint85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    420
    298
    186
    118
See reviews for
166
563
121
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We picked the best western Brighton hotel for our wedding. Lauren the wedding planner made us feel very welcome when we came to view the venue, and helped us plan the perfect day.
The staff at the venue were very helpful before, during and after the ceremony. The food was amazing and the room had a great view and lots of natural light for the ceremony, and was transformed into a spacious party room for the evening. - Just perfect. Oh and don't forget the Bandstand just outside the hotel over looking the old pier for those memorable pictures.
If we were to do it all over again we would definitely do it here.

All our guests said they enjoyed the whole day and the rooms were very clean and tidy with lots of variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miggy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Lovely elegant bar as you walk in sets the tone for your stay. The rooms are small but clean and well-equipped. However, the bathrooms are very small! Staff couldn't do enough for you and, as a group of 5 friends staying from Thursday to Sunday, we had a great time. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Booked this the day before arriving. The location is near the Portslade par of Brighton, but near enough for the centre, and only just off the seafront. Some rooms have been refurbished, so I was expecting something a decent room . When I entered mine the room looked old and tired, sadly, when I left in the following morning, I felt the same way! Unfortunately the room suffered from a lot of noise from the water system, so I was woken by this around 4 am, not ideal, and couldn't get back to sleep. The breakfast in the morning, used powdered egg for the scrambled eggs, so not great. On a brighter note the staff were very friendly, but let down by the accommodation. Please note , parking on site is £15, you can park on the road, free overnight after 6pm,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank richardw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The Best Western Brighton Hotel is well-situated on the seafront but is a bit further along from the town centre than I had thought. Still, it is only a few minutes' walk from the shops and 20-25 minutes' walk from the railway station. The hotel is well-presented from the outside, as is the reasonably spacious reception/bar area inside. I found the reception staff and all other staff to be very polite and pleasant. There is a lift in the reception area but it is tiny, probably only able to carry four people at a squeeze or one person and their luggage.

I had booked a single room and requested a seaview in my booking. They were kind enough to allocate me a room on the side of the building with a partial seaview looking West (see photo). So the outlook was quite nice, although the window was a bit dirty/misty. The room became very warm from the Sun during the afternoon, even on a sunny day in March, and it was necessary to leave the curtains closed and window slightly open when going out. Although a single room, the bed was a three-quarter double - the disadvantage was that there was no space for a bedside table. The furniture was fairly bland and basic but solid. Generally, the room needed a lick of paint to freshen it up. Tea/coffee-making facilities with biscuits were provided and there was a small LCD TV with Freeview channels.

The shower-room was small and basic but adequate. There was no abundance of bathroom products and the only soap was the liquid variety attached to the wall over the basin and in the shower - not very practical, especially considering how difficult it is to get a lather with Brighton water. I found that there was no hot water for a shower on a Friday afternoon at around 5:30pm, although I had no problems with hot water at any other time.

Breakfast was served in a lovely, bright dining room overlooking the promenade. A buffet was available but it had a very limited selection of basic cereals and bread/toast (no croissants or yogurts). However, it was also possible to order one cooked item as standard - I ordered pancakes, which were excellent.

On the whole, this is a good hotel in a nice location but I would put it as a 2.5-star rather than a 3-star hotel. I would certainly have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I booked this hotel without first reading some of the reviews on this site. After reading them I was a little concerned about how the hotel would be. The night I booked was for a first evening away with my girlfriend and I was very anxious that it would be a memorable stay as it was her first time in Brighton. On arriving at the Hotel we were able to park in their very small on site car park, so far so good as parking in Brighton can be a bit of a pain at the best of times. Upon entering the hotel I was pleasantly surprised with the decor, bearing in mind this is a 3 star hotel it is decorated quite nicely. Receptionist was very very helpful and pleasant making checking in a breeze. I'd booked a Superior room with a side sea view but was given a full sea view at the front of the hotel which was a bonus, again the decor was nice although the furniture was a little on the cheap side. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom a little small but more than adequate. Noise wasn't a problem as the double glazing kept it to a minimum. Very clean and comfortable hotel with some very helpful and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Brighton on a budget. Not the nicest hotel on the seafront (The Grand, The Hilton etc) but for what you pay in this location it is more than enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbrown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I stayed here for a night on a work trip. The hotel was quite cheap so considering the price paid for the room it was good value. Downstairs in the hotel was quite roomy and comfortable. The elevator and rooms were quite small but again were perfectly comfortable. I had a room facing the ocean and the old Brighton Pier which was beautiful. Make sure you get one of these rooms if you stay here. I would certainly recommend this room for a good value, economical hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterSkywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing