We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Loud noise from adjoining rooms into the small hours.Wouldn't recommend if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fimunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    417
    296
    179
    116
See reviews for
164
553
121
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel looked very much like a residential home converted into a hotel. I had a sea facing room which appeared to have been recently renovated but not to a high standard. The floor was queaky when walked over. The windows couldn't close tight they were draughty especially on a windy day and noisy. The bath room was tiny I could barely move around in it. The finishes were very rough around the edges and not to a high workmanship.
It was cold at night but the heating was not on.

The view to the sea was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and waiters and waitresses were efficient.

I would probably to go back as the room was not comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

hastings
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

we just arrived back fom 1 night at brighton i booked this hotel at the last minute and got a bargain £69.00 bb for 1 double room.
we arrived at 12 and asked the hotel if we could park in the car park and come back at 2pm to book in the lovely receptionist said we could book in there and then so booked in with parking by 12.15 parking was £15.00 from booking in till 11 am next day which for brighton is cheap.
we had got last minute tickets for lee evans at the brighton centre which is a short 5 minute walk away so perfect for evenings out we also walked up to the town to do some shopping again 5 minutes walk away.
the room was lovely and clean floor 4 and on probly worse day of this year so far the views across the sea front (from the side of hotel)was fab the sea was very rough and it was very windy the room was quiet cold but that suits us.
the bed was a double ,nice clean white bedding ,the room was clean and of a good size tea and coffee making facilties in the room a large wardrobe and a hair dryer (very usefull to dry our clothes as we got very wet out in the rain) the bathroom smelt as if it had just been decorated and was nice and clean,the shower was fine .
after the show we got back to hotel and had a drink at the bar which was good priced we went to our room the hotel was quiet and we was not distrubed at all .
we got up and went down to breakfast and was greeted by the lovely friendly staff asked if we would like juice and tea or coffee told to help ourselfs and also help ourselfs to cereal toast etc .the menu for breakfast was good we had pancakes with yogurt and fruit and full english the food was fab and the services was fantastic the staff asked if we would like more tea coffee or juice .
we really enjoyed our time at this hotel and will re book again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggin Hill, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Friendly and efficient reception and bar staff. Superb location for Conference Center, Pier and Front. Paid alot of money for a Superior Room - fabulous outlook onto the sea front but room, basic for a Superior. Bathroom very shabby, windows dirty and double glazing terrible. Bed hard and sadly could hear the guests on the floor below who decided to come in drunk and shouting at 3am!
Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Drinks at bar good and coffee really nice. £15 parking we thought very expensive when you could park for £14 for 24 hours in the multi storey not far away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayDay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire,uk
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel. My husband and I stayed over the bank hol wend. Even though it was very busy on reception when we arrived, the chap serving could not have been more helpful. He helped us to get a parking space right outside, and even came out to move the cone for us! We were then allocated to a side sea view room (we hadn't booked a room with a view), it was adequate but had twin beds and only a shower with no bath. 5 mins later there was a knock at our door, and the same chap on recpetion had come up to find us and tell us he had found us a room at the forn for no extra charge! So we ended up with a gorgeous sea view room, much better (room 312). The rooms are a little tired, but are clean which is all that really matters. Extra touches such as some toiletires being provided would have been even better. One huge benefit is the location, 10 mins walk from the shops, and it is out of the noisy beachfront area, so you don't hear all of the bars and clubs emptying out! Breakfast was very good, and I would definitely stay here again. another

Room Tip: Front sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katezmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We arrived for a two night stay at the hotel on a last minute deal, the price was excellent, the service was extremely good and the hotel was spotless.

We didn't eat in the hotel other than the breakfast but that was a very good buffet continental breakfast with a freshly cooked english breakfast if you want it!

The rooms were spotless as was the hotel. The outside could do with a bit of a facelift but the sea air is not kind to paintwork!!!!

Overall it was a very good hotel in a great location, the only gripe I would have is that the cost of the parking but it is the same as going to the NCP so if you can get a space then it's handy having the car outside!

Would definitely go again if in the area!

Room Tip: Look for special deals on the Best Western website - we got 20% and breakfast included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed there with my partner for a two night stay in July. The location is fantastic, on the seafront, only a short walk from the town centre.
Our room was nice with a side sea view and a comfortable bed. Cleanliness was of a high standard. Breakfast was good too.
The hotel staff was polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
After reading some reviews, we were not sure if we should stay....but we had a great time, enjoyed our stay and woud stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing