We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, great service, excellent location”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed in September with my partner for 2 days. We got sea-view room with great view on the beach. Staff very helpful and good service in the restaurant.Excellent location.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Brighton Hotel in August 2011. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, in particular the wedding planner Lauren. We had an amazing day. The food was top quality, our guests enjoyed having the cones of fish and chips in the evening. We would definetly recommend the Brighton Hotel as a wedding reception venue, you could not want anything more for your special day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed for business.great location just few min from Brighton centre,great view and helpful staff

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3uni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked through best western website and selected our room from the pictures labelled. The picture we chose turned out to be the most expensive room in the hotel and NOT the room we selected. It turned out it's not even one that is advertised on their website! When we arrived we were very disappointed, especially as this was our first trip away as a couple and we wanted the room to be nice. The room we got was very poor with a cupboard for a toilet which wasn't big enough to fit my own small frame, let alone my 6'5" man into! The room was clean but very tatty and outdated. Once we spoke to reception we were upgraded but still not to the room we had booked, although this was because of a wedding at the time of our stay and the room was booked for the bride and groom. To be fair to the staff they were very helpful, and they did allow us our last night of our stay in the room we had thought we were booking. This room was beautiful, had we of been able to have this room from the start I'd of given the a top rating.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly and ask for the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Loud noise from adjoining rooms into the small hours.Wouldn't recommend if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fimunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel looked very much like a residential home converted into a hotel. I had a sea facing room which appeared to have been recently renovated but not to a high standard. The floor was queaky when walked over. The windows couldn't close tight they were draughty especially on a windy day and noisy. The bath room was tiny I could barely move around in it. The finishes were very rough around the edges and not to a high workmanship.
It was cold at night but the heating was not on.

The view to the sea was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and waiters and waitresses were efficient.

I would probably to go back as the room was not comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

we just arrived back fom 1 night at brighton i booked this hotel at the last minute and got a bargain £69.00 bb for 1 double room.
we arrived at 12 and asked the hotel if we could park in the car park and come back at 2pm to book in the lovely receptionist said we could book in there and then so booked in with parking by 12.15 parking was £15.00 from booking in till 11 am next day which for brighton is cheap.
we had got last minute tickets for lee evans at the brighton centre which is a short 5 minute walk away so perfect for evenings out we also walked up to the town to do some shopping again 5 minutes walk away.
the room was lovely and clean floor 4 and on probly worse day of this year so far the views across the sea front (from the side of hotel)was fab the sea was very rough and it was very windy the room was quiet cold but that suits us.
the bed was a double ,nice clean white bedding ,the room was clean and of a good size tea and coffee making facilties in the room a large wardrobe and a hair dryer (very usefull to dry our clothes as we got very wet out in the rain) the bathroom smelt as if it had just been decorated and was nice and clean,the shower was fine .
after the show we got back to hotel and had a drink at the bar which was good priced we went to our room the hotel was quiet and we was not distrubed at all .
we got up and went down to breakfast and was greeted by the lovely friendly staff asked if we would like juice and tea or coffee told to help ourselfs and also help ourselfs to cereal toast etc .the menu for breakfast was good we had pancakes with yogurt and fruit and full english the food was fab and the services was fantastic the staff asked if we would like more tea coffee or juice .
we really enjoyed our time at this hotel and will re book again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143 - 145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £58 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing