We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but dour and small room”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel is in a great location on the seafront and my sea-view room had a great view.
Sadly, that was really the one and only highlight.
The cracked window frame was only the start of it... dingy lights, dark curtains and dated furniture.
Plus the room I had was so small, it was terrible.
Yes, its cheap and if you just want a base near the beach its fine - but don't expect any luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalteseAdonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here before. I knew it was a 3 Star, and I got a good rate - paying only £29 for the night. This incl breakfast. The room was clean. Breakfast the next morning was standard, as was expected. Not sure why the people on previous posts complained. They probably complain for the sake of complaining, becuase they are born to complain.
I got what I paid for and expected what I got. For me this was a good inn and I would be happy to come back.

If you want 5 star suites and services honey, then find a 5 star hotel and pay the 5 star rates!!

Room Tip: If you want 5 star suites and services honey, then find a 5 star hotel and pay the 5 star rates!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenvdb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked a last minute single room by phone. When I asked for the price of this room, it was about 20£ more expensive then I've seen online. But after saying I found a cheaper price
, I was able to get it at this price. The room was basic, but clean, although that wasn't the case with one of the towels. The wooden floor was quite uneven in my room, and whilst walking in the hallways, every floorboard cracks and moves a bit. Around 8am I woke up due the loud noises from the slamming doors and the sounds of the cracking floorstboards, caused by my neighbors and housekeeping. However the service was good, although I didn't get the breakfast since it looked overpriced to me.

I was lucky to book this hotel last minute and claimed that cheaper price I found online, so I got to pay 60% less then the normal price. Otherwise it wouldn't be worth the money if you ask me. But on the other hand, It's hard to find a better deal in Brighton.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert_Beckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

this hotel is in a great location, on sea front and very short walk to Brighton centre, pier and laines etc. BUT iwe were upgraded to a delux room, weel i shudder to think what normal room is like, as this was small and furnished to a 2 star standard and the bathroom was a tiny rom of about 1.5 mtr square and obviously no bath and some kind of weird shower that was nosier than the pit lane of F1 track on race day!!!
check out is 11 am ( never had before 12 before) and at 6 min past 11 the recepyionist was calling room to say she would be charging me an extra 10 gbp for late check out!!
when we went to check out and met her , the receptionist turned out to be the rudest most vile person i have ever met in the service industry ( i stay in hotels several times a month ). Luckily the manager that came out and dealt with us after the receptionist had muttered rude comments and went to office, was a professional land pleasant man who made us leave with smile on our faces , after he explained the receptionist was chemically imbalanced !! good breakfast and other staff fine!

Room Tip: NOT TOP FLOOR!!!!! as very small and rubbish bathroom well 411 anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theenglishmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Booked this as a reasonably priced place to stay in Brighton. The lobby was very promising, but the rooms were disappointing. The worst point was breakfast - the continental-style buffet was a very poor showing, just rice crispies, Weetabox, Cornflakes and bread. Not the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciarancreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

After looking through some of these pictures two things are clear: 1) people are confusing this hotel for the other best western in Brighton, and 2) my room was possibly the worst in the hotel. It was tiny, cramped, poorly designed, tired, and the head of the bed is against a wall with seemingly all the plumbing in the entire hotel running through it. When any shower or toilet was used it sounded like the wall was about to burst open and flood the room. I'd be alright with all this if the price were reflective of what you get, however this room was more expensive than one at the Grand just a few short blocks away and the nicest and historic hotel on the waterfront. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolyShytBigFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference. A nice10minute walk from the conference centre, and 20mins from the pier. I booked a single room and was given a large family room with a double and single bed. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There no view, but I hadn't requested one. However there was a window which let in a lot of light and I could open it to get some air in. The room was warm and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee available. A good hairdryer, and a really good shower. Clean towels every day even though I had hung them up and not left them on the floor. All staff were friendly and polite.
I hadn't booked breakfast but decided to pay for it. It was adequate and edible, but overpriced at £7.95. There was no toast or bread and butter included. I got one cup of tea and a glass of orange in the price.
My room was in the basement, and to access it I had to go up several flights of stairs then down several flights of stairs - difficult if you are infirm, elderly or disabled.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view>
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkeycrew09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £38 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing