We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and friendly staff”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have just got back from out stay at this hotel and found this to be very good we arrive just before 2 and told that our room was not ready but they offered for us to leave our bags if we wanted as we decided to go for a walk to the pier. When we returned to check in we were told we had been upgraded. The room was very clean great sea view and the bed very comfortable. the staff where very friendly from when we arrived and told the room wasn't ready to the staff at breakfast. Breakfast was nice and did just the job. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

£120 for the smallest double room in the world & it doesn't even include breakfast ... not worth it ... Do not stay here !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croc180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Arrived very late but check-in was easy, night porter knew exactly what to do. Room was adequate but on the small side but with nice partial sea view. As I was only there 1nt but had visited before I didn't use the facilities but the hotel bar is a nice relaxing place to have a pre-dinner drink or a few drinks before tattling the frenetic nightlife of Brighton. The only disappointment was breakfast. The choice of hot breakfast was great and my kipper fish came out hot and freshly cooked, but the buffet was a little lack lustre, with just cereals, bread rolls with a few preserves and butter, but no cheese, meats, salads etc and just a choice of 2 juices and coffee being served cold. However the staff were very pleasant both in the restaurant and at reception, offering a late check-out and on departing the South African reception manager said he recognised me from a previous stay which would have been quite a while before this stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Excellent value for money, in a great location. I stayed june 2012. The rooms were what you would expect in a hotel like this clean comfortable and with a great sea view, but the best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were without exception helpful friendly and polite. The service was of a very high standard and I would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneeliz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Like Brighton itself, this hotel is a little worn around the edges but still retains a certain charm that makes a visitor feel welcomed and comfy. I stayed in a single room on the 4th floor. The room was small (as was the lift) but very clean.... I found the bed to be comfortable but the duvet should be bigger - it struggled to cover both sides of the bed at the same time! However, the bathroom was sparkling, with a great shower and big fluffy towels, replaced daily.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. I didn't try the breakfast but the dining area looked very elegant.
My only issue was the lift which is very small and slow - for any-one that has some level claustrophobia (like me), the stairs are the best option.
I will definately return to this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermione32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice with my boyfriend on short breaks away. Not great value for money and we certainly wouldn't pay the summer prices but overall it's a perfect location and staff have always been helpful to us.
Both times when we have checked out we have been allowed to keep our car in the car park until 1pm at no extra charge. We have never had the breakfast there but have never been disturbed by the staff when they have been cleaning.

Overall the rooms are a little shabby and run down with outdated furniture and not the the most comfortable beds in the world. They could also do with redecorating. However we have always been supplied with extra blankets and towels. Rooms could do with a bit more elbow grease when being cleaned though but it's not the dirtiest place I've stayed in!

I would recommend staying here as it is close to the town and the pier.

Traveled in October 2011 and February 2012 with boyfriend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I came to stay at this hotel with my boyfriend for the bank holidays in June. We were welcomed when we arrived and managed to check in earlier than expected which was nice. The cooked breakfasts both mornings were excellent as well.

Now for the negative...

We noticed our radiator was leaking as the carpet was damp/wet. Called up reception and they said they will send someone up expecting a maintenance on call man to check it out...instead a bar lady came up, had no clue what she was doing and handed a pair of pliars and offered us to fix it!!!! That was just totally unprofessional and unexpected. Next thing, it was raining all day on Tuesday, me and my boyfriend did not ideally want to walk 20 mins into town and i politely asked whether they have any light refreshments or snacks that we can have in the bar area. Instead, the receptionist at the time handed me a map and directed me to a parade of restaurants 5 mins away. Do they not want business???!!! Another thing, due to the weather, rain was dripping through the windows and we had to use the towels that were provided to us to hold the water.

On check out, i complained to the manager of what we had experienced. She felt very apologetic and offered us a deduction of what we had originally paid which ended our stay a little more comforting.

Overall, we would not stay here again and i do not recommend it. It is a shame as the location is great, however if you have never been to brighton before, i urge you to pay a little more and stay at the Hilton :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £46 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing