We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel, great price”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
west mids, UK
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fab hotel, great price”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. On this visit there was myself, hubby and 17 month old.

we had ranga few days before to explain that my husband was disabled and could they secure parking. Reception said that this would not be a problem.

We arrived and sure enough a spot had been reserved for us. I have to say upon entering the hotel it is very swish and nice with a piano and small bar.

The room we were given was very spacious and had plenty of room for the travel cot we had taken. The room and the bathroom were very clean. I had no problems with the bed and slept very well.

The staff were very helpful at all times and couldnt do enough to help. The bar served a decent range of drinks and was typical hotel prices. The bar was very relaxing and chilled.

The hot breakfast was cooked to order, again this was of a very high standard and very good.

I paid £59 for a sunday night stay with breakfast and i have to say i could not fault it. I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezfiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    420
    298
    186
    118
See reviews for
166
563
121
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We travel regularly to Brighton as my partner's kids are there. This was the first time though we had booked this hotel, mainly because of the price (£80 a night) and the location. We always struggle finding decent hotels in Brighton without paying through the nose and we thought we'd hit on a bargain. I have to say that the front of the hotel (lobby etc) is lovely, but go to the back and through the warren of doors to the bedrooms and its not quite so great. The double room we had you couldn't swing a cat in. It was horrendously stuffy and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. I usually have no problem sleeping but even though it wasn't particularly warm outside and we had the window open I woke up completly bunged up, with a sore back. The en-suite is essentially a broom cupboard. My knees were touching the wall when sat on the toilet and my boyfriend couldn't even sit straight on it. The shower looked tired and tiny. On the plus side it has parking (if you get there in time at a cost of £15 a night), breakfast is good and the staff are helpful. BUT, I would not stay there again, the room just really was that uncomfortable - I like my sleep too much!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shantele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location on the sea front. The room was very compact but fine as a base. Overall we were happy with our stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have just got back from out stay at this hotel and found this to be very good we arrive just before 2 and told that our room was not ready but they offered for us to leave our bags if we wanted as we decided to go for a walk to the pier. When we returned to check in we were told we had been upgraded. The room was very clean great sea view and the bed very comfortable. the staff where very friendly from when we arrived and told the room wasn't ready to the staff at breakfast. Breakfast was nice and did just the job. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

£120 for the smallest double room in the world & it doesn't even include breakfast ... not worth it ... Do not stay here !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croc180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Arrived very late but check-in was easy, night porter knew exactly what to do. Room was adequate but on the small side but with nice partial sea view. As I was only there 1nt but had visited before I didn't use the facilities but the hotel bar is a nice relaxing place to have a pre-dinner drink or a few drinks before tattling the frenetic nightlife of Brighton. The only disappointment was breakfast. The choice of hot breakfast was great and my kipper fish came out hot and freshly cooked, but the buffet was a little lack lustre, with just cereals, bread rolls with a few preserves and butter, but no cheese, meats, salads etc and just a choice of 2 juices and coffee being served cold. However the staff were very pleasant both in the restaurant and at reception, offering a late check-out and on departing the South African reception manager said he recognised me from a previous stay which would have been quite a while before this stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Excellent value for money, in a great location. I stayed june 2012. The rooms were what you would expect in a hotel like this clean comfortable and with a great sea view, but the best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were without exception helpful friendly and polite. The service was of a very high standard and I would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anneeliz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,170 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing