We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brighton Hotel, Brighton”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A pleasant enough hotel conveniently situated on the seafront not far from the West Pier. Room was pleasantly furnished and offered a wonderful view of the English Channel. All staff extremely pleasant and helpful and the full English breakfast was served direct to your table which is something of a rarity these days. My only disappointment was that the hotel did not serve evening meal but had it done so I would have rated this establishment as very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thanks for your review and I apologise you did not realise at the time of booking we did not served dinner. The hotel is an AA metro three star hotel which signifies we do not operate a restaurant in the evening. This is highlighted on all websites and sorry if it stopped you giving us a higher score. I was please to read apart from the restaurant aspect you enjoyed your stay and the staff were friendly.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a double room with breakfast the day before on laterooms.com for £50. Arrived and checked in on quite a chilly day, went up to our room and it was very toasty, we had to turn off the radiator and open the window as it was a bit too warm but much better too warm than too cold. The room was well presented and had everything we could need including a very good guide to Brighton. Yes, the hotel is a bit quirky and the floors are a bit sloped as it's a old building but that adds to the character! We had a side sea view which was a bonus and it was lovely to hear the sounds of the sea in the morning.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent, tea/coffee and juice served to us and our cooked breakfast order taken while we could help ourselves to continental (cereals, croissants, toast, dried fruit, yoghurts).

Would stay here again when visiting Brighton but find an offer before booking your stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jw1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thanks for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the great sea views. I hope you will return on your next visit to Brighton.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very helpful staff for booking and reception at the hotel. Excellent position, right on the sea front. Although the hotel has a small car park, this was full for our stay, but there are parking facilities right next to the hotel and the staff were helpful to advise us of these. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and as I went for the smallest cheapest room I feel that it gave excellent value for money. The hotel is well place for a short walk to many facilities but does have a smart and quiet bar for residents. We needed the air and decided on an evening stroll.

Room Tip: We stayed at the very top of the hotel and arrived late so just needed a base for the night. All goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToastmasterRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thanks for the review and I was please to read you felt you had excellent value for money, found the hotel staff helpful and found the facilities in good order. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank sambucasam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We decided to get married at this hotel on Aug 16th and what a great choice we made. From the first moment meeting Louise (the sales manager) and other staff we were put at ease and they made our decision easy. In the build up to the wedding we met Louise on a few occasions to discuss plans and she gave great, calm advice throughout but ultimately was very flexible to what we wanted. We had a food tasting (complimentary) which was extremely difficult as all of the choices were superb. We chose Seabass and thought that this maybe risky as cooking seabass for 70 guests may be difficult but literally everyone of our guests complimented the food (and service) throughout the meal. It was awesome!
Throughout the day the service was fantastic and the whole team worked really well, as the bride and groom we did not have to stress hardly at all. Nick Louise's right hand man was a star! He literally seemed to work for 24 hours from the morning to the next morning he was always there serving, cleaning up after us (saving our presents etc out back for us), cutting our cake at 10pm (as we left this a little late, thanks again for your flexibility!) and generally making sure we were ok.
One little gripe was that we were informed that we could hang decorations wherever we wanted but when it came to the actual day of setting up there were some restrictions on what we could do. Therefore it would be better for the hotel to be clearer here so everything is completely clear. The room booking was also a bit confusing and this would be an area the hotel should improve as this did cause a bit of stress for some. They could improve by making sure that rooms were not double booked and maybe double check prior to the day. However, we do not want this to detract from the great day we had thanks to the staff but thought it was necessary to add for a honest review.

In short the hotel offers some lovely rooms overlooking the sea, excellent relaxed service for a wedding and awesome location opposite the band stand where we managed to get some great wedding pictures.

We highly recommend it!

Thanks again for everyone at the brighton hotel who made our special day- amazing.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butchtheboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that you had a great wedding and enjoyed your special day. The team put great effort into all our events to make them a success. I wish you both all the best for the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £48 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing