We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Highly recommended hotel have stayed there few months ago and had to stay there again while in Brighton. Amazing view from the hotel room. We stayed in 211.. Staff are extremely lovely and want to thank Steve and staff for being so helpful and really welcoming. Will definitely be staying there again when we visit Brighton. Lucy and dave - london

Room Tip: 211 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks Lucy and Dave for your review after a repeat stay at the hotel. I was please you enjoyed our fantastic views from your bedroom. Your staff comments are much appreciated. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    420
    298
    187
    118
See reviews for
166
563
121
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is good value for money. We got a great deal for a double room with sea view, room 312, which was a good size with a large window looking out onto a wonderful view over the bandstand and out to sea. Weather was atrocious when we arrived, but the room was comfortable and warm with all you might need including kettle/tea/coffee etc. The bathroom was spotless and perfectly adequate, with clean new looking towels. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and friendly, helpful staff on hand. An old hotel yes, but at the price a good place to stay for an affordable break in Brighton.

Room Tip: Room 312 was not too noisy, stayed in November when it is quieter anyway, although the hotel is on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swainc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

You know how sometimes you pay a bargain price, and sometimes you are very pleasantly surprised? Well, as soon as I walked through the door, I just thought 'why didn't I just pick the hotel down the road and pay the extra 30 quid'!
The hotel is dingy and needs renovating, the lift is only big enough for two people (no exaggeration). The single occupancy room I had was tiny - I couldn't even fin my room as the signage was awful.
The staff, although satisfactory in behaviour, would not be the staff that is want to represent my company. They made me wait at reception for more than 5 minutes.
You always read about 'you get what you pay for' - why didn't I listen?

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Brighton Hotel for a loong weekend during this summer. The hotel clearly has survived on location and past glory. The room had a good enough size, but as we had asked for a room with a sea view, we were disappointed when we realised that the room was at the side of the hotel. Yes, we did see the sea, but it still wasn't quite what we had in mind. The room, especially the bathroom was crooked and it was clear that this hoel was in dire need of a renovation. The loo hardly flushed at all, which was quite annoying. The elevator was realllllyyyy tiiiiny and moved veryyyy slow.

Breakfast was nice, quite a few things to chose from. The staff were very nice and helpful.

This hotel i really far from both the pier and the train station compared to other hotels. A big plus is a street only av couple of blocks from the hotel (Preston Street ?) that had a really wide selection of different restaurants.

I would recommend this if you want to live on the sea front and doesn't want to spend too much doing so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weibchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My children booked this hotel for my birthday treat, two twin rooms with balcony and sea views, all confirmed three days before we arrived. On the train to Brighton the receptionist telephoned to say they had double booked but would upgrade us to single rooms for the same price and throw in a bottle of wine.
Horrid does not describe it,the place smelt damp and the one room they showed us was a cupboard with a wire netted window under a fire escape across an alley. All four rooms were all over the place and one had such a dirty bathroom, the whole place was disgusting and as the company owned three hotels in the area we asked them to book us in somewhere else, there were other people in the foyer who would not stay there.
When we asked for rooms with views they told us they had no twin rooms with sea views - a trading standards issue. DON'T even try it, so scruffy and dirty.

Room Tip: Inspect the room, mattress and bathroom before you commit yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A pleasant enough hotel conveniently situated on the seafront not far from the West Pier. Room was pleasantly furnished and offered a wonderful view of the English Channel. All staff extremely pleasant and helpful and the full English breakfast was served direct to your table which is something of a rarity these days. My only disappointment was that the hotel did not serve evening meal but had it done so I would have rated this establishment as very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks for your review and I apologise you did not realise at the time of booking we did not served dinner. The hotel is an AA metro three star hotel which signifies we do not operate a restaurant in the evening. This is highlighted on all websites and sorry if it stopped you giving us a higher score. I was please to read apart from the restaurant aspect you enjoyed your stay and the staff were friendly.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a double room with breakfast the day before on laterooms.com for £50. Arrived and checked in on quite a chilly day, went up to our room and it was very toasty, we had to turn off the radiator and open the window as it was a bit too warm but much better too warm than too cold. The room was well presented and had everything we could need including a very good guide to Brighton. Yes, the hotel is a bit quirky and the floors are a bit sloped as it's a old building but that adds to the character! We had a side sea view which was a bonus and it was lovely to hear the sounds of the sea in the morning.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent, tea/coffee and juice served to us and our cooked breakfast order taken while we could help ourselves to continental (cereals, croissants, toast, dried fruit, yoghurts).

Would stay here again when visiting Brighton but find an offer before booking your stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jw1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the great sea views. I hope you will return on your next visit to Brighton.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing