We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Below Expectations”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night mid week on a wet and very windy day. Staff were polite and helpful but the hotel could do with a little TLC. Room was large and adeqate but a little old fashioned. No where in bathroom to put toiletries. Everything appeared clean and it was good to have tea and coffee making facilities. The room was very hot and it was a struggle to turn the radiators down! Be careful if you take a car; not much parking available on site. Hotel is in a good position as its an easy walk to shops and restaurants and the beach is across the road (and its a busy road).
Breakfast was very average with little choice on the buffet but there are cooked options. Everywhere can look a little glum in December so perhaps it would appear better in the summer!
Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I was disappointed that we fell below your expectations although I note you found the staff polite and helpful, the position of the hotel good and value for money. All bathrooms have a shelf for toiletries as this is a Best Western standard unfortunately as the room has not been identified I cannot double check. I have asked the housekeeper when checking room to let me know if she finds one without a shelf in the bathroom. I hope you will return in the summer and see Brighton in a different light.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
There are newer reviews for The Brighton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Yes this is a budget priced hotel but the service and location are much more than that. Reception was swift and efficient parking was easily arranged and at £15/ day very reasonable for Brighton. Rooms are on the small side but are clean and warm, very quiet with a good shower in the en suite. Breakfast was a feast and excellent quality. Recommend this sea front hotel to anyone it's great

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

It was good to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the staff friendly and efficient and a great location. The rooms are of varying sizes due to the conversion of the building which is listed. I was pleased that you would recommend the hotel and look forward to you returning in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Front desk assistant was very helpful, particularly in arranging a well-needed late checkout with minimum fuss. Room was modern, clean, and very quiet facing the rear of hotel. The small parking area was full when I arrived, but there is a nearby underground public car park and it seems very secure. This hotel is excellent value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thanks for the review and I was pleased that the front desk staff were helpful and you were able to enjoy a late checkout. It is always good to know that guests felt they had value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

i would like to thank the staff and management for 4 lovely days , the hotel was clean , breakfast had a good choose , the staff were very professional and extremely helpful.
i will defiantly be back.
Deborah Castaldi

Room Tip: ask what kind of room you want, IE; sea-view , which floor you prefer to be on
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debcastaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thanks for the review and it was great to hear you had 4 wonderful days at the hotel. Your comments regarding the cleanliness and the staff being extremely helpful and professional are welcomed and will be passed on. I look forward to you returning to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, Room was very small, the bathroom was tiny, the morning was quite noisy as the room was at the back of the hotel above the bin collection
the staff were friendly but I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I was disappointed to read that you would not stay at the hotel again and we did not meet your expectations. Rooms sizes vary on room type and being a listed building we cannot change the layout. Location of room again are based on price and in the future could consider a sea view. I was pleased you found the staff helpful.

I hope you will re-consider and return to the hotel in a different room type in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel was booked online and we were slightly worried by some comments but I can honestly say that from the moment we walked into the hotel we received a warm welcome and professional service. The room was to a very good standard, clean and spacious with a double sea view, the breakfast more than average and all the staff especially Christian very attentive.
I can really recommend paying for the parking as we didn't have to worry at all during our stay.

Room Tip: ask for room 211 fabulous views and a corner suite
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I was pleased to read you received a warm welcome on arrival and the staff gave professional service with your room being of a good standard, clean and spacious. Thanks for your comments on Christian. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price at the hotel anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £60 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing