We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post-Christmas Break”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel is in a good positon on the seafront. The rooms are adequate but rather tired. Our room on the first night had a postage-stamp shower room but the very obliging girl on reception upgraded us on the second night to a much larger sea-view room with a full size bathroom. All staff were extremely friendly and most courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank traceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Grand this ain't. The room was simply furnished, but spotlessly clean and had a tea tray and biscuits. Our breakfast was freshly cooked and the staff were charming and friendly - we also had a fabulous view over the beach from our table. The building is grade 2 listed, so we knew to expect the numerous stairs and fire doors.

Would definitely return here as it was such good value and the staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed in a single room on the 4th floor. Was very compact and "dinky" but that in itself wasn't a problem. Quite like a dinky room! The TV didn't work, the lamp on the side table thing didn't work, the whole room creaked like anything, the bathroom door wouldn't stay shut and the shower when turned on (was a power shower type of thing) sounded like a truck engine when running! The worst thing was the window. Appeared to be single glazed and it was very very windy outside. Might as well have been sleeping in tent. Once the booze wore off (!) couldn't sleep at all because of the rattling window and wind coming through the window. I can cope with everything else but this really tipped me over the edge!

Staff were awesome however, despite boing told that breakfast finished at 10.30 when actually it finished at 9.30, which was another irritation, the lady serving breakfast kindly made sure we weren't left hungry as we arrived for breakfast at 10. Very kind of them to sort us some breakfast out. Hotel needs updating in the room department.

Room Tip: Don't take mine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjarv1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

On arrival we sqwelched though the water soaked welcome rug into the Main foyer of the hotel which was dark, unwelcoming and looked in need of a refurb.
We had booked a sea view room on the first floor and as promised ,it was spacious with a comfortable queen size bed with a seating area.
Again, was 'nt overly impressed with the decor and was slightly apprehensive at the sight of a mound of damp towels strewn around the base of the large picture window, this was to prove prophetic as on our second day, we returned to our room to find that rainwater had ingressed and flooded the carpet.
We were moved from our 1st floor sea view room to an Attic room on the 4th floor , I understand that there realy were no other rooms available, but just a little chargined as I had paid rather a lot of money for The first room as my wife has a fear of lifts and is presently awaiting hip replacement.
Altogether , not a terribly enjoyable experience,run down hotel, with few facilities, holiday inn next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is my third stay in this hotel. Previously I came on my own but this visit was as a couple so it was a slightly different experience. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and clean, however I found the bed a little small for two. We had a really excellent deal but we had to book online and I would have liked to have contact with a "real" person to have some advice on the room as I would have been prepared to pay more for a quieter location. I was fortunate enough to stay on the top floor during my other visits, away from the noise but this time we were on the first floor and had quite a bad night. Apart from traffic and drunk people shouting there was a lot of noise from people walking about above us and from the fire door which was near our room. The bathroom was also a bit small.. this did not bother us particularly but we are not very big! Overall the value for money at this hotel and the service are excellent, I personally don't think it would be worth while to pay more for an more expensive old seafront hotel as they might well have the same problems. However if I come back again I think I will try and get some more advice from the staff about quiet rooms as I would prefer to pay a bit more for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollypolooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review and I apologise that on this occasion your found the hotel noisy. You can book direct by telephone and do not have to book on line the choice is yours. Some third party sites do not display telephone numbers however you can book on 01273 820555. The double bed you had would have been a standard double however King size beds are available in some rooms.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

my wife & i stayed at the best western Brighton hotel for 2 nights B/B, Dec17th --18th. we were given a lovely room with a side sea view. from our greeting to our departure the staff were wonderful.
the full English breakfast were excellent with other good choices from the menu, we have stayed here before --- 3 years ago, and the hotel has kept its high standards and we will go back, the reservations staff were really helpful, and the table service at breakfast deserve top marks
Many thanks to all who took such good care of us & Merry Christmas to you all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymond077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

I was pleased to read as a repeat guests you found the hotel and staff still of a good standard. We do continue to invest in the hotel when possible. I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820 555 or via our website. We guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £47 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing