We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is an older style hotel on the sea-front of Brighton, close to the town centre. This was booked at a low price for a short overnight stay in January. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Steve, who quickly explained breakfast arrangements, advised local eating places (late evening), car parking arrangements and showed us to our room. The double bedroom was very clean and spacious enough although located in the lower ground floor, with a window below ground level, looking up to a side street. The bed was comfortable but the bathroom was tiny, with a shower, small hand basin, soap dispensers and WC. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the bedroom. Breakfast choice and quality was excellent. I would use this hotel again but would want to be in an upper-floor bedroom, with a more spacious bathroom.

Room Tip: Request an upper-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your time at the hotel. The staff are an asset to the hotel and aways make guests welsome. The next time you are looking for accommodation in Brighton please call the hotel on 01273 820555 to make your reservation and request a room on an upper floor. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    401
    282
    170
    108
See reviews for
157
531
115
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Booked on late rooms for £30 per night, parking is £15 extra per night though! And carpark only holds about 8 cars, rooms are very pleasant and spotlessly clean. It's right on the seafront so not far to walk for the usual attractions of Brighton, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. A ****

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you managed to take the benefit on one of our special winter offers. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a decent sized seaview room on the 4th floor with a comfortable bed but which was rather spoiled by badly fitting windows which rattled all night in the strong wind, and a bathroom door which wouldn't shut properly. Property is old and in need of quality refurbishment rather than just painting over the bathroom tiles! Well located opposite the old West Pier about 15 minutes walk into town. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed yuour stay. Unfortunately the car park only has 11 spaces and we cannot exoand due to our location. The hotel has capital investment each year and currently we are refurbishing bathrroms. The bed would have been a King Size if in a sea view room.
I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future,.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Stayed in room 211 which is supposed to be kingsize bed but I'm sure it was only a double. Rooms are good size with bed, sofa, tv, coffee table, wardrobe and dressing table. Sofa starting to show its age. Ceiling must have been thin or room above was noisy. Lovely view of the sea and bandstand in the morning. Hotel parking a bit tight. Not bad but room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Peewee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great location on the sea front, superb staff - friendly and helpful - topped off by a lovely breakfast (freshly cooked full English). Highly recommended as a great package including excellent prices compared to other Brighton sea front hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It was great to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and at a good price for Brighton. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed over the summer and this hotel we perfect.

It is located right opposite the pier.

We stayed on the top floor.

The room had a big double bed and a single in the corner. A massive dressing table 2 wardrobes and a sofa and a couple of chairs.

In the bathroom there was a large Jacuzzi bath plenty of room for 2!!

The room was brilliant and massive. We never did make breakfast so cannot judge on that.

Parking is a nightmare in Brighton in general, the hotel gave us a pass to park in an NCP for £5.00 off making it around £18.00 overnight. DO NOT PARK THERE. It is the most expensive car park in Brighton by a long way you can find cheaper just do a little digging.

Room Tip: Top floor there are lifts so no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for your comments on the hotel and it was great that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately parking is an issue in Brighton and we recommend the closes parking to the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've booked a room in this hotel for one night looking to escape and to relax for one day. Since I like more space I've booked a double room for myself and this came for a very good value considering short notice ( less than 24 hours). I was checked in by a friendly receptionist Steve who handed in my keys. Once I got to my room I immediately checked the bathroom as I was DREAMING about taking a hot bath. The bath tube was not there - only a shower cabin. I rushed back to the reception and asked if I could possibly have a room with a bath and Steve checked all other rooms and I was upgraded not only to a room with a bath but also with the see view! This really made all the difference on my stay and I ended up having a relaxing time exactly how I wanted it for no extra cost!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rutakac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It was great to read that your last minute getaway was succesful. We will always try and find a suitable room for guests request when possible. On your stay you obviously got an uograde and a bath which was what you initially wanted. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing