We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Seven of my family of all ages stayed here and had a great time. Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful, such nice people. Breakfast was brilliant, a large choice of good quality and well cooked food. Everywhere was clean and tidy, and the rooms were a good size, one was a bit dark due to the type of glass but did not really matter as in Brighton to see the sights and walk by the sea, which were all very close. Lovely sea views from the public areas of the hotel. A hotel full of character, and we will all stay there again. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    414
    290
    177
    110
See reviews for
161
544
121
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Triple room booked for about £55 allocated room 103, labyrinth of corridors to get there and many stairs leading down. A subterranean room with a severely limited view of the sea. The room though was clean and surprisingly light as it was mostly below street level. The bathroom clean with a great shower. A good room for the price and cannot complain. Mind you the bin men arrived at 0610 hrs and had a wheelie bin race very close by, only to return at 0810 hrs for a rematch. As a quick overnight stay this was fine, staff professional and nice. As for the underground view, well bedrooms are for closing your eyes in are they not?

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorTechnical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a recent trip to Brighton and were very happy with our Kingsize Seaview Room. The windows were huge and the view was unbeatable, we actually watched the sun setting over the sea from the comfort of our sofa! The heating was on when we arrived and the room was clean and warm.
We didn't bother with breakfast so I can't comment on that but the staff seemed very friendly at reception. The bed was very comfortable, I hadn't had such a good night's sleep in ages! We had no problems with the cleaning service and always returned to a made bed and clean room.
There are a few bad points I would like to address, the first being that the windows were very draughty and need updating desperately. The one in the bathroom actually had large gap which meant we had to use a towel as a makeshift draught excluder! Luckily the curtains in the bedroom were big and heavy so kept out any draught in the morning but unfortunately the damp still got in, making the carpet next to the window wet and it was quite mouldy along that part of the wall. It wasn't a massive problem for us but it's something the hotel should consider fixing in the long term (it's also worth mentioning that the weather was horrendous whilst we were there and it's a very old building... so it's sort of understandable).
Also, again it wasn't a problem for us but if you have balance problems be aware that the floors are very uneven!
Overall we had a very comfortable stay and were sad to be leaving our lovely seaview room. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent staff and hotel, even the bad weather didn't put me off. Great location for the Brighton Centre and the Lanes. Bedroom nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was scrummie. I would definately stay here again. Only drawback was they didn't have an evening service, although bar snacks were available. Plenty of nearby bars and restaurants to eat which were good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel. We enjoyed the first visit, but this time the decorations were fresher to improve the experience. Steve on Reception couldn't have been more helpful. Great breakfast and good value room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was a clean and comfy hotel - peaceful, nice bed, good breakfast with lots of choice and good helpful staff. My single room was roomy and had a view of the sea - luxury for a single room. It is situated in the elegant Regency part of town, which is quieter and more sedate than The Lanes. The hotel is in need of a refurbish. It is looking a little dated, there were signs of wear and tear such as scuffed furniture and threadbare patches on the stair carpet. My main grouch was the difficulty of controlling the heating and ventilation, although there was a notice in the room advising that fan heaters were available. The window didn't fit properly and let water and draughts in - a towel had been placed on the windowsill to soak it up. The hotel was booked and paid for by someone else which was fortunate as the Friday night cost an eye-watering £142.

Room Tip: Rooms on south and west sides have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Arriving late at night in a storm, i was dismayed to be told first, that i had requested a basement room (who does that?) and that therefore i had a double room in the basement and if i wanted to be out of the damp basement i couldn't - they wouldn't let me switch to another room as a twin room is more costly than a double apparently. They also insisted i pay in full for the room and breakfast before i could get the key to the room anyway (despite having reserved on the Best Western site with a credit card and being a loyalty club member). The check in staff were unhelpful and told me to sort it out with their manager the next day - not much good for a one night break. The room was very dated with badly sloping floors, terrible water pressure and light bulbs not working. All in all, if you want a hostel type experience, stay here - if you want a bit of comfort and warmth in an easy hotel in Brighton, this is not it any longer. Other cheap options are much better including Jury's Inn, new Ibis, etc. Not worthy of the BW label.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_in_Tunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I aplogise the hotel did not meet your expectation and I have already responded to you via your comments to Best Western. You will have recieved a copy of your confirmation confirming that you requested a lower floor room. I also checked you invoice and no extra charges where made for the change of room or breakfast as you were on a bed and breakfast package. No deals of your lloyalty card were with you reservation.
I hope all went well with your hospital visit and I am disappointed that you will not use the hotel again.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing