We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* Brighton Hotel”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This Best Western has a great location and comfortable beds. The service was ok and if I could get a reasonable rate would use again. I paid less than £70 for the room but would not have been happy had I paid more. The bathroom was tiny and although a 'deluxe room' the bathroom needed some love. Was basic but adequate taking into account the room charge.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms do have a great outlook but I get the impression from other reviews that the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you would stay again depending on the price. Our pricing structure similar to the airline model and is based on supply and demand.

I hope you will take advantage of one of offers in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked up this hotel as a family for what I thought was an eye watering £175 (no breakfast inc) so was expecting something special. Imagine being given a room that you went down to the hotel depths to find, and opening the door found what can only be described as a dingy depressing and I think unsafe room! Dirty windows that had dirty nets compounded by prison style metal bars (Heaven help you if there was a fire, no escape!) 2 mins in there was enough before we complained and I must say most helpfully given a much better room with sea view and sofa bed for our child. Top marks for helpfulness but my advice is don't book the family room.

Room Tip: Avoid the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your review and comments. I can assure you there is fire exits from the lower ground floor rooms and all has been agreed with the fire authorities. I was pleased that on this occasion we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade. Due to being a listed building the room vary in size and location within the building and are priced accordingly subject to supply and demand in the city similar to the airline pricing model.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 67adrianm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived and before going to our room I asked to see it first.
Good job I did. It was a pokey back side room with the most disgusting shower I've ever seen in a hotel.
They showed me to a front sea view room which had been refinished then asked me for 40.00 more to stay there.
I refused because AS A FREQUENT STAYER I SHOULD BE AUTOMATICALLY UPGRADED TO THEIR BEST AVAILABLE ROOM FREE OF CHARGE !!!!
We had a room on 4 th floor front of hotel. Bathroom nice and new room ok and clean BUT this hotel needs sound proofing, kept awake by people shouting and rowing next door, traffic noise terrible. Heat in the room unbearable .
You can hear rooms below you and beside you showering , flushing loo and just normal level speech.
The carpets on the corridors and stairs are thread bear and totally worn out.
The breakfast room is sparse and basic , not a table cloth or runner really tacky and nasty.
These hotels buy into the best western name but sadly let them down big time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benson605089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room very clean except for windows and curtains. Right on the sea front but rooms at the back have no sea view. I had a back room but was still able to hear traffic at night although it was the week of the Brighton festival so maybe it was busier than normal. Room has no airconditioning but fan is provided on request. It was not high summer but room got very hot. Hate to think how uncomfortable it could get when weather is really hot. Bed very comfy. All in all average as expected.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Ebele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your comments and I was pleased we met your expectations. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning but being a listed building we would not receive planning permissions.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Brighton and I hope you will come back when next in the city.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A wonderfully located hotel on the front opposite the Bandstand and near the old West Pier.
We were in a 4th floor large, but tired room. The room's facilities were adequate, but storage and bop double bed size small.
There was a wedding at the hotel on the Saturday which, after breakfast, used all the ground floor facilities and we only knew about on the day!
We paid premium prices for mediocre facilities and service.

Room Tip: Ensure the room is completely described to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

very nice hotel, old design and staff very friendly and helpful. near to most of good attractions in Brighton. the room was clean and bed comfortable. the staff in breakfast venue were helpful.
the parking available in this hotel with surcharge.

Room Tip: see view in upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yamim054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I hope you will return again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143 - 145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £58 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing