We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quality-Price”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel is in a great location and room had a great sea view. The staff was very friendly and accommodating...especially when parking my vehicle in their limited parking space. Hotel is a little tired but has character! The breakfast was good, many choices to choose from. I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. I look forward to you returning again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was clean and adequate for the money for a one-night stay, although somewhat old and shabby. I guess I am used to nicer and more modern Best Westerns in the United States. Main problem is the drunken rowdiness in the corridors all hours of the night, but this is apparently typical at Brighton hotels on a Saturday night. Staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised after reading many critical reviews. And it was the only hotel in Brighton offering single night lodging rather than requiring a full weekend booking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank richard11261946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. The hotel was build in the regency period and is convert from a series of town house giving it character. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and I apologise if other guests disturbed your during your stay.

Hopefully if you are in Brighton again in the future you will return to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here for one night, my room was large and comfortable, overlooking gardens and with a good view of the sea, the shower room small but functional.
Check was smooth, friendly and efficient, there is a ground floor bar and I took the lift to the Second Floor.
Having arrived at One o clock I was able to take advantage of the first come first serve parking at £15 per night.
The hotel is in urgent need of a facelift although I suspect that such is the demand for rooms in Brighton they are probably making money.
The hotel is situated bang on the sea front almost opposite the old ruined pier, about a ten minute walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for your response and I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel does upgrade areas each year however is a listed building with limitations on what changes can be made without changing the character.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights last week and I have to say, slept like a log all week in my ‘double room’.
Took a bit of getting used to-I kept knocking things off shelves until I was acclimatised to the limited space.
One of my colleagues had a room with a sea view which in retrospect was a mistake, as he was kept awake by idiots playing with a Frisbee outside till the early hours.
The breakfasts were varied –the boiled eggs with dippy soldiers were excellent, given it must be 30 years since I had them last.
Shower could do with some maintenance as the hose kept falling on me as the connection was partly broken. I was also attacked by a flying dial, unhinged by the vibrating shower, which I had to stick back on.
Free wi fi was handy.
Bar was ok but needs more chairs and a choice of at least one beer-only lager and Guinness available.
Staff were lovely and attentive.
Wouldn’t go back due to the small rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry your found the bedroom too small. The hotel is listed and has various sizes of rooms. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your dippy soldiers and our free WIFI. Unfortunately we have tried selling draught beer however the demand was just not there. We sell a selection of bottled beers as an alternative.

Perhaps you will consider returning and booking a larger room.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a great seafront location however things go downhill from here. Shabby room with a small corner high up window which constituted my sea view...disappointing!! I mostly could see a peeling corner of the building rather than the sea! While the bathroom was modernised the shower sounded like a jet plane taing off.
Comfortable bed but little facilites ot storage in the room, very basic.Sleeping wasn't a problem once you had no neighbours or in my case drilling and hoovering next door up until 10.30pm, was this really necessary? No fridge, air con or even a pen and paper. The window only opened out a small bit, with chains attached, which wasn't a problem until the rain came and it wouldn't close so the window ledge was full of water.
Overall it was functional and clean and did feel safe but lacked in so many ways. A shame.

Room Tip: Top floor better for a quiet sleep but if you are paying for a sea view make sure you are not stuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreedomFighterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I apologise we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is a three star metro hotel which indicates limited service. At three star level you would not normally find a fridge or air conditioning (unless purpose build today). The windows are restricted for health and safety reasons. Each room should have a pen and paper which I will discuss with the housekeeper. As you say the hotel is clean and functional which is what we aim to provide as we are not in the luxury market.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This Best Western has a great location and comfortable beds. The service was ok and if I could get a reasonable rate would use again. I paid less than £70 for the room but would not have been happy had I paid more. The bathroom was tiny and although a 'deluxe room' the bathroom needed some love. Was basic but adequate taking into account the room charge.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms do have a great outlook but I get the impression from other reviews that the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you would stay again depending on the price. Our pricing structure similar to the airline model and is based on supply and demand.

I hope you will take advantage of one of offers in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked up this hotel as a family for what I thought was an eye watering £175 (no breakfast inc) so was expecting something special. Imagine being given a room that you went down to the hotel depths to find, and opening the door found what can only be described as a dingy depressing and I think unsafe room! Dirty windows that had dirty nets compounded by prison style metal bars (Heaven help you if there was a fire, no escape!) 2 mins in there was enough before we complained and I must say most helpfully given a much better room with sea view and sofa bed for our child. Top marks for helpfulness but my advice is don't book the family room.

Room Tip: Avoid the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your review and comments. I can assure you there is fire exits from the lower ground floor rooms and all has been agreed with the fire authorities. I was pleased that on this occasion we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade. Due to being a listed building the room vary in size and location within the building and are priced accordingly subject to supply and demand in the city similar to the airline pricing model.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,656 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £49 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing