We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed recently. Enjoyed a lot. Friendly staff, good location. Worth price you pay for it. if I will stay in Brighton thats first on my list. recommend for others. keep up good job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Great to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Disappointment and does not live up to the Best Western brand name. My room is very small, but worse is the bathroom. The bathroom smells "old" and you can see exposed concrete and dirt around the pipings behind the toilet and the sink, which is very off putting. The shower constantly leaks water and sets the floor. You cannot lock the window and the safe in the room has no "lock", just a gapping "lock hole".
I won't stay there again when I visit Brighton and I will, for my learning next time, carefully evaluate the quality of my chosen Best Western hotel, obviously the standard is not consistent. Two good things: breakfast - you have a good choices for hot breakfast plus continental items, and a good view.
When the hotel hosts wedding parties etc, it is noisy, I can hear everything from my room. It is nice of them to notify the guests in advance, but disturbance is disturbance.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 320 for sure - that is a single room and it is not up to my expectation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and I apologise we did not meet your expectations. The safe locks are available at reception and detailed in our room directory. Unfortunately I do not know what room you stayed in as you did not leave similar comments on departure. If you could email me iain@lowygroup.com the room you stayed I can give you my comments.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Tired Hotel, shabby decor and shower areas. Room not ready at 2pm check in time. Noisy guests with an apology note in advance on the bed from management on arrival. Staggering £187 per night, excluding breakfast, does not represent fair value for money. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I apologise that the hotel did not meet your expectations regarding value for money. Our rates are based on supply and demand and compare favorably with other hotels in the city. I am sorry you feel you did not get value for money.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel is in a great location and room had a great sea view. The staff was very friendly and accommodating...especially when parking my vehicle in their limited parking space. Hotel is a little tired but has character! The breakfast was good, many choices to choose from. I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. I look forward to you returning again in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was clean and adequate for the money for a one-night stay, although somewhat old and shabby. I guess I am used to nicer and more modern Best Westerns in the United States. Main problem is the drunken rowdiness in the corridors all hours of the night, but this is apparently typical at Brighton hotels on a Saturday night. Staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised after reading many critical reviews. And it was the only hotel in Brighton offering single night lodging rather than requiring a full weekend booking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank richard11261946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. The hotel was build in the regency period and is convert from a series of town house giving it character. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and I apologise if other guests disturbed your during your stay.

Hopefully if you are in Brighton again in the future you will return to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here for one night, my room was large and comfortable, overlooking gardens and with a good view of the sea, the shower room small but functional.
Check was smooth, friendly and efficient, there is a ground floor bar and I took the lift to the Second Floor.
Having arrived at One o clock I was able to take advantage of the first come first serve parking at £15 per night.
The hotel is in urgent need of a facelift although I suspect that such is the demand for rooms in Brighton they are probably making money.
The hotel is situated bang on the sea front almost opposite the old ruined pier, about a ten minute walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for your response and I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel does upgrade areas each year however is a listed building with limitations on what changes can be made without changing the character.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights last week and I have to say, slept like a log all week in my ‘double room’.
Took a bit of getting used to-I kept knocking things off shelves until I was acclimatised to the limited space.
One of my colleagues had a room with a sea view which in retrospect was a mistake, as he was kept awake by idiots playing with a Frisbee outside till the early hours.
The breakfasts were varied –the boiled eggs with dippy soldiers were excellent, given it must be 30 years since I had them last.
Shower could do with some maintenance as the hose kept falling on me as the connection was partly broken. I was also attacked by a flying dial, unhinged by the vibrating shower, which I had to stick back on.
Free wi fi was handy.
Bar was ok but needs more chairs and a choice of at least one beer-only lager and Guinness available.
Staff were lovely and attentive.
Wouldn’t go back due to the small rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry your found the bedroom too small. The hotel is listed and has various sizes of rooms. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your dippy soldiers and our free WIFI. Unfortunately we have tried selling draught beer however the demand was just not there. We sell a selection of bottled beers as an alternative.

Perhaps you will consider returning and booking a larger room.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £46 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing