We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Fife
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Tatty. Small rooms in need of re-decoration. Despite promised sea view, only partial ( out of side window) 'Seating area' in room turned out to be small table and 2 hard chairs at window.
Narrow steep stairs, very small lift.
Not shown to room and no assistance from staff with luggage.
Staff whose first language is not English had difficulties with some guests ( although not us)

Room Tip: If you want a 'full' sea view then request it on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01273 820555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review.

Kind Regards

Daniel Reed
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    401
    282
    170
    108
See reviews for
157
531
115
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Me and three of my friends went down to Brighton for the weekend, choosing the Best Western at £89 each for 2 nights and while we did not expect much at this price we certainly did not expect the service we received.

Upon arriving at the hotel and into our family sized room which was in the basement (which was humid, hot and stuffy the entire time) we soon realised that the shower door would not open and as a result could not be used - this was a shame because the bathroom including the shower was actually very nice. Someone came down to try and open the door and was un able to. We were then given a room that we could shower in and although a nice gesture, this was of inconvenience as the room was at the top of the hotel and we had to go back and forth to shower with our belongings. we were also offered a free drink at the bar.

On the second day of our stay, to our surprise, a wedding was taking place and it was only at this point we were notified, with a letter in our room letting us know that music would be playing until midnight. Our room was next to where this was taking place and it was so loud it felt like we were inside the room itself. The music begun in the afternoon at a time when we were trying to have a nap before the evening, obviously this was impossible. To make matters worse the music was so loud we could not hear the tv and were forced to listen to wedding music all evening. After complaining to the management we were then offered another free drink.

Later on that evening we went upstairs to go and use the shower in the other room we were given only to find out that our room had been given away to someone else and all our belongings taken out of it. After retrieving a bag filled with our belongings from housekeeping we realised that £50 worth of items had gone missing and the staff were extremely unhelpful in finding out what had happened to these items.

Someone came down on the evening of our last night to fix the shower... which was a very nice shower and therefore a shame we could not have had it for our entire stay.
We went out later that night to get away from the wedding music and made our way to the hotel bar to cash in on our free drinks, by this point we were frustrated and annoyed by the service we had received and the hotel bar was empty and had an atmosphere of a morgue instead of a bar... as a result we decided to ditch the drinks and just go out somewhere we could actually enjoy our drinks.

The next day before we checked out we tried to resolve the matter at the front desk, the manager was not in and the staff were both unhelpful and unapologetic. They told us WE could email the manager and sort it out ourselves.

HOWEVER!!!!!!!!! despite our complaints about our experience at this hotel the manager was kind enough to agree to refund us for one nights stay.

It is a shame that the experiences we had, occurred, because if it wasn't for the broken shower door and the wedding the only complaint we would have had about our stay was that the room was very hot and stuffy.
The bathroom was lovely and modern.
The room was not too small and was exactly what we would expect for the price we paid (however the single room we were given to accommodate for our lack of shower was not as nice)
The location is great (we liked the fact it wasn't right in the centre because the centre was so busy)

Room Tip: Single rooms very small and need renovating
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyBiglari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01273 820555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review.

Kind Regards

Daniel Reed
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Slight niggle on arrival when we couldn't park at the hotel, but this issue was quickly resolved when someone was leaving and we paid for car parking space.

The hotel is located on the sea front and some of the rooms have sea views. Quite a walk to the shops, and main restaurant area, but just up the road behind the hotel is a great selection of restaurants and a few shops (looked as though this may be where the local eat out).
Our room was not over large but it was clean and recently decorated with a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. No air conditioning but although the weather was extremely hot the room was bearable.

On the downside the hotel was not particularly disabled friendly, but on the plus side I had called and asked to swap a room from a double to twin. Although this was not a possibility I was told that an extra bed would be put in this bedroom and I was pleased that this request had been dealt with on arrival.

The breakfast was very nice and good sized portions.

Just one complaint which spoilt what had been a pleasant stay. We had been asked to leave a credit card authorisation for all of us (six) in total on one credit card and we were told we could then pay how we wanted when we left. This turned out not to be the case, the lady on reception on check out insisted that payment came from the card from which the authorisation had been made and that we could then tip however we wanted! There was a great breakdown in communication and difficulty understanding what we were trying to say on check out. This was a real shame as other than that everything was good. This will not put me off returning, but I hope that the General Manager heeds the comment and ensures that the member of staff is given the necessary training.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campariandbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Thank you for your comment regarding breakfast, I am pleased to hear you felt the breakfast was very nice and good sized portions.

I have also taken on board your comments regarding leaving a credit card authorisation and the problems encountered on check-out which have been noted and I will review our procedures to see how we can improve in this area.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01273 820555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review.

Kind Regards

Daniel Reed
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in July and I was very impressed. Luckily on arrival we managed to grab the last parking spot, which was very limited and extremely tight parking. They charged £15 for this but we could keep it there for our stay and they let us keep the car there after we checked out which was helpful. The staff were friendly and helpful, everywhere was clean and tidy.
The view from our room was amazing and very much liked waking up to that. The bathroom was spotless, but there were a few marks on a sofa we had in our room but we didn't really use it.
When we stayed it was extremely hot but a fan was provided, only down side was the windows didn't open much at all, but I assume that's more for safety.
All in all a very nice hotel in a good location, you can't really go wrong right on the sea front.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01273 820555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Kind Regards

Daniel Reed
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We made a last minute booking with this hotel to visit an unwell relative. We travelled with our 1yr old son.
We arrived early and our check in procedure was seamless, leaving our bags at reception. However - there are 4 steps up to the front door which is then not wide enough to get a buggy through meaning that our son had to be carried in, buggy collapsed etc.
Our room was on the 4th floor. When you exit the lift there are 6-7 rooms directly adjacent to the lift however our room was through doors, up 3 steps, down 4 steps, through another set of doors then up 9 steps. With luggage, a buggy and small child this was not straight forward!
In saying that, that evening a staff member offered to stow our buggy at reception so that we didn't have to lug it upstairs.
The room itself was basic but comfortable, with the travel cot we had requested. It was a particularly warm weekend and we asked for a fan which we were quickly given.
We didn't take breakfast so can't comment.
In summary, the hotel was fine for a last minute stay and would probably stay again but ask for a room adjacent to the lift.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ann4118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01273 820555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Kind Regards

Daniel Reed
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room we were in was clean and tidy but unless you are only staying for two - three days there's not a lot of hanging and storage space. The en-suite was small to tight. The shower was clean but very tired and in need of a grout / sealant overhaul and, in our case a tray as it was heavily marked and looked cracked and unclean. The window had a security lock and only opened about 4" which, in the heat, was insufficient to give ventilation but we did get a fan from reception.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast selection was very good and well cooked but did cost extra. The car park cost an extra £15 per day and was extremely tight to get in and out of . Vehicles are parked herring bone and two estate or large 4x4s opposite each other makes getting in and out of 6 of the 10 spaces very tight or impossible especially if you want your car on a daily basis. Would we come back, possibly. Value for money, just.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the side (no sea view -- just buildings) but our room was very quiet. Front of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01273 820555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review.

Kind Regards

Daniel Reed
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel isn't too bad seems clean ,the staff are nice and very helpfull

My two complaints are 1 shower tray needs replacing
2 breakfast is expensive ,but apart from that it's ok,didn't have a view of any sort I don't suppose that matters

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view ,and if it's warm like it is this week ask for a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, Manager at The Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01273 820555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review.

Kind Regards

Daniel Reed
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Property: The Brighton Hotel
Address: 143-145 Kings Road | East Sussex, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotels elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer Dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing