We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of The Blue Man

The Blue Man
Ranked #170 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$32
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Blue Man is a relaxed and informal Cafe-Bar with Brighton Soul and North African flavour. You can pop in for coffee (best in town!), Amazing selection of tea, a lovely wine list or a bit of food if you're hungry. We're chilled and informal and will make you feel very welcome. In the evening we host live events, acoustic nights, dancing, DJs and parties. Pop downstairs and feel a world away from the hustle and bustle in a haven that's a home away from home...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Dropped by here as the atmosphere looked so inviting from the street. Had grilled halloumi with honeyed apple, fresh pita, salad, and hummus with mint tea. This is the first restaurant I haven't complained about since moving to the area. The food is simple, but pound for pound in taste. It was fresh with wonderful flavors that I scraped my plate clean! If I would describe my meal in a word, it would be warmth. Maybe it was the cozy atmosphere, but honestly, the food had me smiling for miles. Obviously, I'll be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetblablag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are so glad you had a good time and like our food so much!

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Thanks
The Blue Man Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    51
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cafe/restaurant”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I found this place by chance and we're so happy we did! We stopped in for lunch because of the proximity to Brighton Station and the promise of '100% Arabica Coffee'. The coffee was gorgeous and the food was fresh and fantastic - I haven't had such good Falafel in years! We will definitely be returning next time we are in Brighton and would urge anyone with a taste for North African dishes to give it a go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello and thank you for your review, we're so glad you like our coffee - we're proud of it and get in a reserva especially!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks
The Blue Man Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Hidden Morroccan Gem”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My first taste of the cuisine from this part of African in many years, and I wasn't disappointed. Had a Lamb tagine and couldn't fault it on taste and quality. Will certainly go back if I'm in Brighton again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatherHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, sorry it's a bit of a late response but we really appreciate your words and glad you enjoyed yourself so much.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Man also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Blue Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing