We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is so Loud in here!”
Review of The Blue Man

The Blue Man
Ranked #79 of 1,308 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Blue Man is a relaxed and informal Cafe-Bar with Brighton Soul and North African flavour. You can pop in for coffee (best in town!), an amazing selection of tea, a lovely wine list or a bit of food if you're hungry. We're chilled and informal and will make you feel very welcome. We have a beautiful brunch menu that we serve from 10am to 4pm and all day, every day we have our tapas and sharing menu. If you feel like something sweet, we've teamed up with local artisan ice cream makers, Boho Gelato who have created a special ice cream and sorbet list that reflects our North African flavour.
Reviewed 18 November 2017

So loud I could barely hear myself talk. Nice atmosphere, Good drinks, especially the Gin and Rum selection. Seating a bit cramped, Wouldnt recommend for anything beyond a visit with some pals..

1  Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi Ray

Thanks for your review and the bits about the bar that you liked!

We're a busy bar in the centre of Brighton so it's to be expected that it will get loud so perhaps if you are not a fan of loud places, maybe Brighton isn't for you as it is well known as a party town.
As we host many events and parties on a regular basis that go very well, I guess we're lucky that not everyone shares your feelings about just visiting with friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

I enjoyed this place so many times before today that it has been a shame how we were treated. Today a group of friends went to enjoy a nice drinks and board game as usual to Blue Man, it was busy and the only table available upstairs it was next to the door. It has been a cold and raining day today, being next to the door it was the only option upstairs until someone else left another seats available. We love some much this place that we did not mind to wait. Going downstairs couldn't be an option for us, 1st because my mum is 70´s and cannot going down the narrow stairs, 2nd is quite uncomfortable there and 3rd doesn't smell nice...( not being fussy) .
Anyway I was just at the door completely open so I left it half-closed as it was raining and cold. A staff member went out when I was just about to seat and when came back said to us " This door has to be ope" I answer "Ok, just leave half-open because it cold and wet" ad he said " No" so we started a discussion and at some point we just decided to leave. the staff member went to bar and started to comment with his colleagues just in front of us and pointing. I said thanks for the attention and the answer was " You're welcome try to avoid being cold". We left really disappointed, how hard was to made us to feel a bit more welcome...

    • Service
1  Thank Ro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Ro

In our experience, we have found that when someone has posted a review like this across more than one social media platform, it is not that a person wants something to be investigated properly and resolved, it is that they want to make sure the world knows that their opinion is the most important, whether it is factual or not.

I can completely understand that you had a disagreement with a member of staff but I cannot accept your account as pure fact, having spoken to the staff involved and watched the cctv.
If you loved The Blue Man that much, you would not have left reviews like this over two social media platforms.You would have understood that things happen and would have wanted to get it resolve personally, not attempt to damage our business across the internet.

As a business, we keep our door at least half open unless the weather is really bad as it is a big and heavy door and often the public do not know we are open. Additionally, The Blue Man is known for being a very warm place so it is nice to have fresh air flowing and circulating through the bar - this is the second reason we keep the door at least half open.

It would appear that you took a seat at the table behind the door and you shut the window then the door in quick succession, having decided this was best for you. The staff member came over to you to say please can you leave the door for now and was about to offer to turn the heating on but unfortunately you did not give him the opportunity to tell you this and were talking over him. At this point he felt under attack and realised that you were not interested in finding a solution so he felt it was best to leave it rather than let the discussion escalate into an argument.
What he was telling the rest of the team as you left was that we need to leave the door half open but to offer anyone else the heating as a compromise. That is why he was pointing at the door, rather than at you directly.

The weather was not that bad, the window had been open for most of the day and not one customer had expressed any discomfort.
I'm sure you realise that a hospitality business has to balance all of the needs of its customers, not just one group so I think perhaps because you had already got annoyed, nothing else was going to make you happy, aside from getting your own way. Which, unfortunately, in life, is not always possible for any of us.

I would ask you, in future, to please, if you are unhappy with any business, especially if you normally really like it, please contact them directly via private message. Let them know the issue and then, if they do not resolve it, then perhaps make it public if it was really that bad.
Or my other suggestion is to simply not go back and take your custom elsewhere as that is what you shouted at our staff member as you left.

We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Very good food and lovely atmosphere. I Really enjoyed the dumplings and goulash. Highly recommended.

Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Dan
Thanks so much for your lovely review - so glad you enjoyed our food! Have to ask though; we don't serve goulash as we're a North African themed bar. Maybe it was a tagine you had? :)
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We only stopped here by chance as other restaurants locally were very busy and surprisingly this one wasn't, perhaps because it's quite new.

However it was excellent all round - our charming waitress Ellie suggested a strange sounding woodpigeon dish that I wouldn't have chosen but it was great. All for a reasonable (not cheap) price in smart and stylish décor. I think the theme is African food, but there seem to be a few different styles on the menu.

Overall, a cut above the average, interesting food and a classy place - we will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you so much for this review, it's for our restaurant on 10 Manchester Street that you are correct in saying is quite new.
We are indeed North African - it's all within that style and we're very glad you liked it so much but we do like to mix it up a little, using North African flavours.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Had such a great evening here! The food was amazing and so reasonably priced!! We ordered one of every tapas and 2 mains and shared it between the 5 of us. Absolutely delicious! Lovely friendly staff too.

Thank Holidaymakergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwdBrighton, Owner at The Blue Man, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Man also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Blue Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing