We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee and Good Food”
Review of Spinelli Coffee

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spinelli Coffee
Ranked #53 of 66 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Good Food”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The cafe is a favourite spot in Old Kemptown for the 'better heeled'. Inside tables are close together and there is outside seating in a fairly quiet street.

The owner has sold his second premises in St James' Street.

With a small menu, food is well presented and good while service is very pleasant - and efficient. About £2.00 more is paid for a breakfast than in more central Brighton. Croissants and pastries are comparatively a good price.

Dogs are allowed inside. The single loo is on the ground floor, large and disabled-friendly, a rarity in cafes and restaurants.

The place is small, popular and does a good trade.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Try the carrot cake”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I've passed this place so many times but have been in before. I wish I'd tried it ages ago as they have some seariously delicious carrot. I certainly will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockchick19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B Right On
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Over priced okay food in tiny cafe”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

!I understand Brihhton is expensive and all costs depend on rent and such but come on, a veggie bfast consisted only on scramble eggs with mushrooms, onions and peppers with a sweet potato mash and one toast. so simple and unattractive for the massive sum of £6,95 not including coffee. so expensive!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“heard the hype...”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

it was just okay ... great coffee but service lacklustre and hardly any space ....

very sorry to find it not amazing as per reviews.........

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DizCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awful service, tolerable coffee, middling comfort”
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

My mother' capuccino arrived almost instantly, but by the time she'd finished it, my americano was nowhere to be seen. I remonstrated twice, only to be told that people ordering takeaway coffee took precedence. There was no apology until the coffee finally arrived, when I was told they were very busy. Hard to believe looking around, and surely you should complete an order of two coffees before serving others. I thought the atmosphere and service were horrible and the coffee, though tolerable, is hardly of the highest standard. As for the seating and comfort factor, where a small cafe like this might win out, it's lean and really not that cosy. I won't be returning and I would advise others to try one of the many other cafes in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Musicalphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinelli Coffee also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Spinelli Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing