We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisajaden...
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just got back from a hen weekend for 20 people. Lovely house. Lots of tiny stairs to go up and down to get to the rooms. One floor has no bathroom on it but all others have. Very nicely decorated and accommodated all 20 of us well. Very near to everything and not far from train station. Had to pay quite a big deposit 2 weeks before and had to phone up to chase the refund a week and a half after our return which I think is a long time for them to have your money. Overall the hen party had a fab weekend and enjoyed there stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The refundable security deposit is taken 2 weeks prior to arrival and refunded 14 days after departure, as per our booking terms and conditions. This is in place to protect the properties from any potential damage and is relative to the size of the property and number of guests staying. This is standard procedure for most holiday let properties. We thank you for leaving the property in good order and happy to hear that you had a great hen weekend in Brighton.
Kind Regards,
CG Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollieluc...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

As a group we were in 2 minds whether to book this house or stay at a hotel, it was a surprise for our bride to be and wanted to make the weekend extra special. This is my first review I have ever written as I don't normally complain but this experience was just too much!

Firstly I just want to say the actual house is beautiful and in the most perfect location it is just a shame it is not looked after as well as it is advertised as!

Unfortunately it was nothing like Crown Gardens advertise it as: For starters there was no toilet roll and there were no bath mats. For the amount of money being charged and the fact that it's advertised as a LUXURY house, this was really inconvenient and caused us more expense as we had to buy toilet roll, which we wouldn't of minded if it was not advertised as everything included. It's also dangerous in those bathrooms with no bath mats and so we ended up using the towels, which we already did not have enough of. We were told the house was for 20 people but when we arrived there were not enough towels, we called the company on 2 occasions but we received no response and meant we had to go out and buy more towels for our guests.

The advertising also says that washing up liquid etc is provided but there was hardly any, so this doesn't really count as provided as well as any washing up sponges so we had to head to the shop for these items too as once again the company that was supposed to be there for us if we needed them did not reply.

2 more points which I think are important, 1 in the kitchen we went to make a pot of tea and found 3 rotten used tea bags stuck to the bottom of the pot, 2 towels in the house had massive yellow stains on them and the last point one of the girls found old, hard chewing gum stuck to the back of her pillow when she went to go to bed!!!

To top this whole experience off we were then told they were not refunding our whole deposit as supposably we had left rubbish in the house!! We wish now we had taken photos of everything in the house that we could of made much more of a fuss about but as it was a hen party for our best friend we tried to make the best of it all.

We will not be recommending this company to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are very sorry to hear of the issues you had during your stay and that you felt disappointed with the experience. The property managers are your point of contact throughout your stay so we will be speaking to them about this. They are often very busy with check ins but they do check their voicemails regularly and should always call the guests back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large kitchen table on the ground floor was a perfect social area and the decor is lovely.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. Delighted to hear that your weekend was a success and you enjoyed the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SMJD20
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good, but a little disappointing”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were unsure about whether to book this at first as it isn't cheap, but in the end we decided to give ourselves a treat as it was for my hen weekend and we wanted to have a super time. I'll start with the good things - beautiful decor, excellent location, lovely to have a separate lounge, large dining table and so many bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and the code entry-system was extremely convenient with so many of us.

Unfortunately not everything was so wonderful: There was no toilet roll and there were no bath mats. For the amount of money being charged and the fact that it's advertised as a luxury house, this was really inconvenient and caused us more expense as we had to buy toilet roll. It's also dangerous in those bathrooms with no bath mats and so we ended up using the hand towels, which I had to call up and ask for because they weren't there when I arrived. The house is advertised as having towels and so I thought this was bad. There was only 1 towel each, which for girls is not that great.

The lights in the vanity room did not work well, so we couldn't really use it as it was too dark. This was very disappointing and I actually sort of wished I hadn't booked it because this was partly the point and there were far cheaper places we could have chosen instead.

The kitchen is not very well equipped for cooking and so I think people should be aware of this. as our plan was to cook and we struggled. I'm sure that cooking for fewer people would be fine, but not for 20.

The advertising also says that washing up liquid etc is provided but there was hardly any, so this doesn't really count as provided. All of the iPod docks etc. are for the old iPhones. This meant that none of us could use them as there were no aux leads provided and we hadn't brought a CD player or anything because we had expected to be able to use the equipment there. This was obviously only a minor inconvenience as there are other ways to play music, but I just think this should be thought about - it's the kind of house that people book to have a house party in or at least to stay in, rather than always go out, so the equipment needs to be up to date.

It really is a lovely house, but these things meant it wasn't as fantastic as it should have been and we felt that because of this, it was overpriced and not very well run.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
We are very sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. We have received feedback from both the property managers and the owners.

The property managers are disappointed to hear that the general supplies had not been sufficiently topped up on this occasion. They offer their sincere apologies for this and only wish you had contacted them during your stay. Their office is just around the corner and they could have had all the items to you within a few minutes. Although we do agree that the items should have been there already, and appreciate you did not wish to spend time reporting this.

The owners were of course very disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied. They stayed at the property themselves, with family, over New Year. They cooked during their stay and did not notice any kitchen items to be missing at the time, however there weren't as many in their group. They also noted that the lights in the dressing room were in working order at the time. However, they have arranged a property check to replace any missing items/lightbulbs as required. They will also look into updating or providing aux leads for the iPod dock and appreciate you bringing this to their attention, as it hasn't been mentioned by previous guests.

We are glad to hear that you liked the property as a whole and found the bedrooms comfortable. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us all feedback, good and bad, and hope you will return to Brighton again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, perfect for our large group”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The information received before our stay was very helpful and on arrival I was very pleased that the description and photos were acurate to the point of not doing the house justice - really nicely decorated, comfy beds, clean bathrooms - a great house for our large gathering. The size and layout of the living room and the kitchen/dining room were perfect allowing us all to be in one room at the same time - the lights in the dining room table were so much fun! I would thoroughly recommend darling by the sea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large group dining table
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
We are delighted that you had a good stay and that Darling-by-the-Seaside exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
On behalf of Crown Gardens Ltd and the landlords
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen table!
Liked least: no hand rail to the basement!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
We are delighted you had a great weekend. We will speak to the housekeepers regarding the cleaning products etc and ensure these are present in future.

Thank you on behalf of Crown Gardens & the landlords
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 May 2014
Hi, we are delighted that you had a good stay and enjoyed the dance classes.

On behalf of Crown Gardens Ltd and the landlords.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing