We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers in town!”
Review of The Druids Arms

The Druids Arms
Ranked #443 of 1,140 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Burgers, kebabs and bar snacks. Popping up at The Druids Arms every Wednesday-Saturday. Everything made from scratch using local, seasonal ingredients.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hands down the best burgers I've ever had. Locally sourced produce, made with fire and love. Everything is home made from the buns to the "Bacon jam" and although it's a little pricier than other places (six quid minimum for just the burger) it's well worth every penny. Not for foodie snobs though, it's no frills in greaseproof paper. Gonna win no awards on presentation but when it tastes this good, you simply don't care.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainStupidbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    44
    22
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This is why I love Tripadvisor!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My girlfriend and I had decided to spend a few days in Brighton and so I used Tripadvisor to research the top rated restaurants.

Troll's Pantry was very high on the ratings and, it turns out, for very good reasons! The "pantry" started off as a burger van in Brighton but has recently moved premises to a more permanent location in the beer garden of "The Hobgoblin" pub. The pub is not far at all from the town centre, but if we hadn't been looking specifically for it, we would never have found it - so thank you very much to everyone who reviewed this place before me!

There were only two options available at the pantry and both of them were burgers. I don't mind at all if there isn't a huge range of options, as long as what is on offer is of a high quality. The pantry uses fantastic fresh ingredients, most of which appeared to be locally sourced, and the very highest quality of steak minced meat "aged 35 days." They were truly amazing! "The Trollcano" had fiery chilli bacon jam and some sort of spicy chutney which worked perfectly when combined with the cooling effect of the chipotle mayo. "The Imperial" didn't have such intense flavours in the condiments but that just meant that you could really appreciate the quality of the burger meat itself.

The pub and the garden were nice but quite frankly these burgers are so good, I would gladly sit in a plague pit, while a fat man with sores on his face poked me with a sharp stick, if it meant I could enjoy these burgers at the same time!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hicksy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you want a snack on a sunny afternoon in Brighton...its the place!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

If you have a couple of hours to lose in a pub garden in Brighton on a sunny afternoon, it's the place to go - good atmosphere and the burgers are bloody fantastic!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pink_cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nom, nom, nom!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great burger. Great atmosphere. The guys cooking are really friendly and proud that everything they cook is home made and locally sourced.
Loved the quirky atmosphere it's a great place to go on a sunny day with some friends to have a snack and a pint in there spacious garden .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munchkin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible pub”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Its an "OK" burger in a terrible pub.
After reading the reviews , we expected the burger and venue to be walking on water.
Sadly both extremely overrated. The burger van trying to be a restaurant, doesn't work when you in a dirty pub.
We came here for a girls day out, we won't be returning.
OK burger , shame about everything else.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Druids Arms also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Druids Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing