We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mucky Duck

The Mucky Duck
Ranked #4 of 13 Bars & Pubs in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: A homely independent pub with a wide range of draught and bottled beers, premium wines and spirits and local craft ales. With a lunchtime specials menu during the day and our full burger menu served until 10pm Monday to Saturday. On Sundays we have Charlie's Kitchen pop-up serving delicious, organic, locally-sourced roast dinners. In the evenings we have various live music Tuesday to Thursday and DJ's Friday and Saturday from 9pm until 1am.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely pub, so accommodating and fabulous staff!!!

Had a wonderful afternoon there, felt very well looked after!

Would absolutely return and recommend!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Suezannebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hipster pub - cool art and fiendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very cool pub where the beautiful people go - walls hung with local art and pics of rock and roll legends. Good range of beers and cider and friendly staff..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty home made pub food you'll come back again for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We ended up staying on at this lovely little pub long after we got hungry as we decided to try their fajitas off the menu. A fair sized portion of honest tasty food that left me really satisfied. The spices were delicately balanced and it was clear that the ingredients were all fresh and this was prepared to order. I've also eaten their burgers before that I'd also recommend without question.

Great pub, wonderful friendly smiley service and top grub. One of my favourites.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

have eaten at mucky ducky lots of times now and the food has always been great, with good portion sizes. a friendly and chilled out atmopshere and staff. always have a giggle with the staff. a great choice of food on the menu too, all home made too.

Helpful?
Thank helenfu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hidden gem perfect for relaxing with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hidden from the main thoroughfare we liked the Mucky Duck the instant we walked in. Friendly staff, eclectic music and a great range of beers.

Amazingly for such a small place it managed to have different areas such as the sofa area, a games area (Connect 4, Guess Who etc) a great bar area and a corner for the DJ to set up. It has a really cool unpretentious vibe about it and the age range went from student to groovy grandad.

Went there both nights our party of two couples stayed in Brighton and both nights were different but equally enjoyable, will be certain to pop in next time we are in town as we are certain to get a decent pint and some interesting music. Oh, and you must try the food! Fantastic quality and value.

As you have probably worked out, of the 10 - 15 pubs we visited in Kemp Town and the Lanes over the weekend this one was by far our favourite.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iamthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mucky Duck also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing