We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place and people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Medusa Bar

Medusa Bar
Ranked #14 of 121 Nightlife in Brighton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Medusa is a very proud bar and concentrates on customer satisfaction. It provides a wide range of alcohol for your every need. It is one of Brighton's many hidden treasures. It specializes in cocktails, exotic rums, shots, shooters, carefully selected wines, draught beers from all over the world and London Pride for the real ale buff. Medusa also specializes in a range of coffee's from a nice hot cappuccino to a cold refreshing frappe. For those whiskey lovers it offers a range from Jack Daniels, Monkey Shoulder, Makers Mark and more. Medusa is a contemporary bar with its own unique style all around you, the staff make you feel at home and are very warm and welcoming. They pride them selves on going that extra mile for customer service to keep the customers happy. George, the owner, has created a unique vibe with great music, relaxed quirky decor and a bar that rocks with a stage for live music, comedy and more. This is one of Brighton's oldest bars and has been running for over 30 years. It is easily recognisable with its small patio frontage where you can sit and watch the world go by. Situated amongst the many restaurants, it is a bar to enjoy before or after eating out. It's also a great place to relax and chill after a hard day. The Medusa is a popular venue with its regulars, local and Brighton students - new visitors are always given a warm welcome. The service is consistent and the house rules is the customers come first. Medusa is a playground for your senses and sanctuary for your soul
Brighton
1 review
“Amazing place and people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Thursday's open mic night was amazing! Paul is lovely and the staff really love their live music. Will definitely be a regular slot for my week

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mckas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medusa B, Manager at Medusa Bar, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time at our open mic and even happier to hear you will be coming back! We will see you soon for more live music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Amazing cocktails at happy hour prices.
A great vibe, friendly staff and good atmosphere.
Would definitely visit again when next in Brighton.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LJayne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medusa B, Manager at Medusa Bar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are so glad you had a wonderful time at the bar and enjoyed our cocktails!
Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again when you're next in Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here while staying around the corner at whitburn lodge guesthouse ..great vibe and such friendly staff and owner. They really make the effort to make you feel like a local .will visit again for sure when back in Brighton!!

Helpful?
1 Thank stevemann1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medusa B, Manager at Medusa Bar, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely words. i'm so happy you had a lovely time at the bar during your weekend in Brighton. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic little bar, great vibe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I found this bar on-line as we were going to Brighton to a party so wanted a trendy, friendly bar for pre-dinner drinks. Am so pleased we went and will definitely will be back. George and his staff were just so nice and welcoming. It was early evening and the bar was packed outside, we sat inside at the bar and the place just has a nice, friendly vibe about it. Oh and I had the most amazing Cosmopolitan cocktail ever!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Princess90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medusa B, Manager at Medusa Bar, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are so pleased that we could make your weekend in Brighton. its lovely to read the nice words you have said about the bar. Next time you will have to try our amazing martini espresso. See you soon we hope for some more cocktails and dancing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A Real Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Medusa's is one of the first bars I visited when I moved to Brighton 14 years ago & have loved it ever since. It has the best combination of feeling intimate & lively at the same time!
George & his staff's welcoming approach always makes the experience feel special, the service drinks & music are great, as is the atmosphere. It's somewhere you can feel comfortable having a drink on your own or having a huge celebration with all your friends.
I highly recommend going there....it's a real treat! .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank YossarianRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Medusa Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Medusa Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing