We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fits the bill, great property and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining room which seats 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room which seats 20
Dining room with option to open to chat to friends in the kitchen Twin bedroom (one of seven bedrooms) all designed for comfort
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Dining room which seats 20
Dining room with option to open to chat to friends in the kitchen
Twin bedroom (one of seven bedrooms) all designed for comfort
Super king bed which has the option of being split into two full size singles
Egyptian cotton linen provided and furnishings are of the highest quality throughout
Front of house
One of the bathrooms
The living room
The living room had two large double sofas.
One of the seven bedrooms
45 seconds away from the Pier, Brighton Wheel and all Brighton's main attractions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JustineSi...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fits the bill, great property and location”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Earlier in the year I came down and stayed in another one of the owner’s properties, but for this visit there was a bigger group of us for another friend’s birthday, so it seemed like a no brainer to stay at this property instead. Seeing as it was a larger group of us, I was worried it might be a bit of a squeeze, but the property met and exceeded our expectations – the bedrooms were very spacious and the property very aptly housed us all (a group of 19).

The house was also very clean and had all the essentials even for a group as large as ours, which was especially helpful the morning after the first night for certain members of our party…! It is ideally located for a large group, surrounded by bars, clubs and nice restaurants – if anything this was our downfall as it made it hard to come together and make a collective decision on where to go! Having said this, the property owner (who was as nice and helpful as the last time I came down) came and met us on arrival and was happy to give us some tips and pointers on where to go. On top of this, we were about 30 seconds away from the beach and pier, which is where we spent most of our second day.

Our second night was much like the first, except we spent more time socialising in the house before we made our way out – like with the bedrooms, the communal areas fulfilled their purpose well, never did we feel too cramped, which made for a more enjoyable and relaxing experience all round.

We had no issues with the property wifi connection and all the appliances worked fine. Overall, a great celebratory weekend for us all, which was made better by this really really nice property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVTCollin...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, brilliant social property”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I recently visited this property as part of a girls weekend away, which I was tasked with organising.

We wanted somewhere that would give us enough space to socialise before we went out, but close enough to the nightlife in Brighton and then I stumbled across the Old Town House.

The location couldn't get much better, situated a stone's throw (excuse the pun) from Brighton beach and the Pier, but also a short stumble from bars and restaurants and nearby Kemp Town, and a few minutes walk from the city centre.

The property itself is finished to a high standard, spacious rooms with contemporary decor but with pretty period features to make it feel more homely than a hotel. However very much like a top hotel, it was very clean throughout and the beds were very comfy due to the crisp linen.

The lady who met us from the property was very helpful on arrival and gave some suggestions of a couple of good local restaurants, we visited one of them on our first night "la capanina" a traditional
Italian around the corner and it was excellent.

Overall a great stay in a brilliant location, one watch out, the parking in Brighton generally isn't great, however if you speak to the owner before there is a space available free of charge which really helped.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10/10 would stay again”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is the second time I have stayed in this property, last year I was in Brighton with a group for a friend’s birthday and this year my group was here for a hen party. A few of us recommended this holiday home to the bride-to-be as we had had such a pleasant experience last year. I am happy to report that our time in Brighton was as enjoyable, if not more so, than last year.

One of my main recommendations to the bride-to-be, and to those reading this review, is that the house is in a superb central location. The shops and clubs are literally a street away so no taxis for us! The free parking, which is very close to the house, was also an added bonus considering how much of nightmare parking usually is in Brighton.

The rooms in the house are very spacious and suitable for a large group (there were 17 of us). Additionally the house was well equipped and stocked with all the essentials. The house is non-smoking so those members of the group who wanted a cigarette had to go outside, however this suited me just fine as I have asthma.

Unfortunately one of our group had recently became wheelchair bound due to an accident. Stairs were really an issue for her and as the bathrooms and bedrooms were all on the first floor or higher she was unable to come along. This is no fault of the building however, it is just a shame that a member of our group was unable to attend the celebrations due to some stairs. I would advise against booking this house if there are members of your group who are wheelchair bound and cannot climb stairs, however it is ideal for everyone else.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic House, Great Weekend”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We came down to Brighton for a friends 30th birthday weekend, with a large group (18 of us all together). The initial plan was to stay in hotel, but after a group discussion we realised that the flexibility of living in one big apartment was more suitable for the weekend of celebrations that we had planned.

The location of the house we stayed in couldn’t have been more ideal for what we wanted. Looking to our left you could see the beach, the pier and Brighton Wheel and 30 seconds to our right Kemp Town offered up a huge range of bars, clubs and restaurants which left us spoilt for choice. The free parking just outside the house was also a welcome addition.

Upon entering the house we found that it met all our needs; being clean, spacious and well equipped. To our pleasant surprise we found that no one in the group had lucked out vis-a-vis bedding arrangements. Prior to arriving we had resolved ourselves to the possibility that at least two or three of us would have had to sleep on a sofa bed with such a large number of us, however this was not to be the case; as everyone had been provided with actual proper beds, much to all of our delight. A word of advice though, any groups larger than 18 would definitely find that a few members would have to use the sofa beds, so be prepared to draw straws if you have more than this in your party!

After settling in we, headed out to Kemp Town for a meal and to find a bar to begin the weekend’s festivities. Even though Kemp Town was literally on our door step, it took us a whole half hour to find somewhere to eat, though this was due to us not being able to make a collective decision as there were so many nice restaurants to choose from.

After our first night of over indulgent eating and drinking we all woke up in a somewhat groggy and bleary eyed condition. Speaking for myself I suffer from rather strong hangovers which I find the best way to cure is with a good strong cup of coffee. Funnily enough a number of our group had a similar viewpoint. We found the necessary ingredients all well stocked in the house, however we found that making coffee for 18 people was rather laborious with just one cafeteria, which we jokingly mentioned to the landlady later that day. Much to our delight, we found a second cafeteria on our kitchen table a few hours later with an apology note. This was completely unexpected and just goes to show how much above and beyond our host went to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

All in all our stay in this house was fantastic and we couldn’t have asked for a better way to have a celebratory weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prime location, fantastic service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacla...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not suitable for large groups, anyone staying up late!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The pictures do not reflect the condition of this property correctly. It is no where near as nice as the pictures look. We had limited hot water, signs of damp in some rooms and it was not that clean when we arrived.

Its is not the ideal place for a party, no room out side to smoke. Signs throughout the house indicate you will lose your deposit for several minor indiscretions. Any noise... deposit gone. Congregate in the street... deposit gone. Bring anyone home, deposit gone.

This is a residential street, and clearly the neighbours have had issues with large groups staying here in the past. I don't have an issue with that, people have a right to peace and quiet, but anyone staying in this house should be made aware of these conditions before they book it.

If you go up to the maximum capacity of this house couple will be sharing rooms.

if you have any plans to have any kind of fun when visiting Brighton then you might want to look elsewhere.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great house in a great location”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A group of us stayed at the Old Town house for a long weekend and had a great time.
The location is excellent, literally a stone's throw from the breach and brighton pier. The house was very clean upon arrival with comfortable beds and good quality bedding/towels throughout.
This is the perfect place to stay for a large group

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Parking tricky but that's applicable in most places
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony l
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A superb weekend venue”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My family held a reunion at the Old Town House on the 11 and 12 of January. It was fascinating to stay in a restored Regency house especially for our U.S relatives. The property was spacious and complete with all the amenities one could hope for a comfortable stay. A big plus is its locality. The seafront, restaurants and bars of beautiful Brighton are no more than minutes away. A little quibble was the dishwasher. It took a little time to get it started and then with the help of the instruction manual.
Still we had a wonderful weekend which we will always treasure..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The historic feel of the property and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing