We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value monday night”
Review of Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We have just re-opened our doors to the public under new owner-ship. We have a new menu and currently offering Spanish tapas with a Latin twist! We don't want to just offer traditional Spanish tapas... So we have added Latin American tapas like no other place in Sussex! So come and give us a try and I can assure you will not be disappointed. You will find a very friendly staff as it is a family business and we are here ourselves!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value monday night”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My girlfriend and I popped in here on Monday with a budget of £30 and hunger in our eyes. We are working our way through all the venues on Preston St as we live just around the corner and this place was next on the list. There was no advertising saying this on the street but once we sat we were told that every table gets a free jug of SANGRIA, tasty and a nice surprise!

The venue itself had lots of rustic wood here and there and a warm Mediterranean feel. The waitress was warm and helpful and at the end of our meal she presented us with a few great value vouchers that let us know they are in search of new business. That's why I think right now this place is offering great value. For our £30 we got 5 portions of tapas that were all very healthy portions. The meat was always going to be great but a nice surprise was this creamy spinach dish that was simple, balanced and a nice compliment to all the spicy meat we'd been drawn too. Also of value was a fish platter that was around £8. One thing they could have done which they didn't was to put the bread we ordered in an oven for a moment so it was warm.

The free sangria jug is available on a monday and wednesday and a great tempter to purchase a full size jug at £15. if we weren't on such a budget we would have definitely been in.

We'll definitely be heading back there for a cheap early week soire when we are feeling to lazy to cook!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 158jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    7
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worst meal out for some time”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I can agree with the recent reviews of this restaurant. We have eaten here twice and the first time was okay but the most recent visit was terrible. The quality and presentation of the food was totally unacceptable. One dish - grilled calamari - was inedible. The slices of meat were too thickly cut and tough (possibly too old).

The owners of this place don't seem to care.

Helpful?
Thank Rockandbaconrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Went here last night for a rare meal out as a couple.Looked inviting and reviews seemed pretty good so thought we would give it a go.I wish we hadnt.Wine to start off which was nice.Ordered some bread etc to start to which we were given a basket of normal 'hovis' style brown bread cut into triangles how you would your toast in the morning...and what felt like had been microwaved.We stared at each other and just thought how weird..Never seen or been given that at a tapas rest.I got up and took it to staff and asked for some proper bread youd expect.10 minutes later another staff member walks through door with baguette in hand in shopping bag...why not be honest and say we havent got any instead of serving sliced bread with ailoi?...
Ordered several tapas dishes..each one came out one at a time and on its own..all of which were of pretty poor/average standard and pretty tasteless.One order was wrong.A seafood dish was brought out.Im allergic to seafood so wouldnt of ordered it.Sent back.All meat dishes came last.Still we had a laugh about it all but wont go back.Not sure whats happened to the place judging by reviews?.....shame because setting very nice.

Helpful?
Thank RIGGSY666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will never return to this 'restaurant'”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were recommended Vinos y Tapas by a close friend and judging by the reviews it may have been great in the past but it certainly isn't anymore! Once you have read this you will realise why .... First signs of problems were when the waiter hovered awkwardly around our table as soon as we sat down, waiting for us to order drinks, quite impatient attitude throughout this order. Shortly afterwards he came to speak with me about our Christmas Menu choices , stating aggressively that as 2 guests in our party had not arrived we could no longer have the pre-ordered christmas menu, and this was only resolved after a heated and awkward debate in front of my guests. Finally, somebody that understood what customer service is came and explained that he had apparently misunderstood their instruction and it was perfectly fine to continue with our pre-ordered meals.
The wine was good although it was never poured for us at the table and it being a fairly large group made things awkward.
The food was bland and tepid for all courses. The worst dishes were the Paella which was undercooked and disgusting. We sent it back to be told that it would be recooked and would take 20minutes . It came back after around 10 having been re-microwaved (I believe), causing the rice to be even firmer and grainier- and what little seafood there was, was absolutely inedible, not to mention the fact we were blatantly lied to. Anyone with any clue about food can tell if something has been microwaved. This is nothing but audacious behaviour and highly unprofessional.
The puddings were just as poor and badly described ie. Christmas pudding was a chocolate brownie cake and gelato was a sweeter than sweet white sticky gloop, with no ice or even cold !
Even the coffee was awful and cold. The one thing that was ok were the Churros with chocolate sauce. The Greek waitress was lovely and saved the evening, so sorry , we forgot her name. We even emailed the manager the next day, as yet no reply! The other good thing was that we stayed on quite late and did not feel that we were being rushed to leave once the restaurant had emptied.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienna211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have been here before and have always stuck to their cheese and meat platters which have always been ok. We went there again recently and it was awful - four triangles of (the same type) of cheese and the quality and presentation of the food was not acceptable. We didn't even touch the bread as it looked so unappetising. The only saving grace was the wine, which was decent quality and the staff didn't even notice us come in, even though the restaurant was virtually empty. Apparently, it has changed management. We will not be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathiejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinos y Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing