We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee”

Ground Coffee Houses
Ranked #46 of 92 Coffee & Tea in Brighton
Price range: US$1 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Independently brewing exceptional coffees and loose leaf teas from the UK's finest suppliers. Breakfast croissants, granola pots, muesli and beautiful pastries from Julian Plumart for breakfast. Homemade soups and salads, and sandwiches prepared on stone ground organic bread from Flint Owl Bakery in Lewes. Fresh juices made to order. We're also friendly, musical and quite clean. This is the place!
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Fantastic coffee and friendly staff, nice selection of food which is decent but a little pricy, main issue is that seating is limited and hasn't got a "cosy" atmosphere, however still my favourite place to get a take away coffee from

Thank Freddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Owner at Ground Coffee Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thanks a lot for the kind words. Not sure if this was in our Lewes or Brighton shop but we are really happy with our coffee which is why we stay busy. We do sometimes pack out but we have plans to create a couple more seats. Hope to see you in again! Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Skip the chains like Nero and head down to a top class indie coffee bar. Incredible selection of brews matched only by the charm of the host. Bijou - you won't find Mobs of families in here, more a quiet nook to sit, savour and read.

Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Owner at Ground Coffee Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Hi Phil, thanks for the review. We're pleased that you like our little oasis here in Lewes. We'll continue to keep the coffee selection interesting and the brew methods precise. Keep an eye out for some nice food offerings that will be coming up soon. Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Staff and coffee amazing-especially the managers son who is doing a great job! Happy Christmas!!!!!!

Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Owner at Ground Coffee Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Hi there, and thanks for the review (sorry for the late reply!). We're really pleased you enjoyed coming to Ground and look forward to welcoming you again. See you soon! Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Had a great coffee here. Can be busy to get a seat but otherwise it was a lovely place. Food here is nice also.

Thank jimbob93983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Owner at Ground Coffee Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thanks very much for the review. I'm glad you liked the food; we're going to be serving a weekend brunch starting next week so hopefully we'll see you there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Used to be a great coffee house but since being refurbished the seating layout is squashed & cluttered ,the choice of food & cakes is now very limited and the quality poor. An open tray of pastries on the counter by the till very unhygienic!

Thank Shazmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Owner at Ground Coffee Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Hi Shazmer,

I'm really sorry we've let you down. We're undergoing some changes at the shop and I recognise that not all of it is working out as planned. I wholeheartedly take your concerns on board and will do my best to improve both the food and the seating. We've just hired a new baker who is baking fresh cakes - sponges with fresh whipped cream instead of butter cream - and fresh fruit. We've had a few problems getting the kitchen working how we'd like it but I think we've come up with a solution. I hope you'll take the time to try us out again soon. Please let me know if you have any other concerns. I'm always happy to hear feedback, good or bad. Take care - Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ground Coffee Houses also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Ground Coffee Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing