We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious classics, great service and unbelievable value”
Review of The Geese

The Geese
Ranked #148 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious classics, great service and unbelievable value”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was recommended The Geese by a friend so thought I would try it on a Wednesday when meals are two for £10. I didn't realise they only serve sausage and mash throughout the week but wasn't disappointed seeing as there were about 10 different ones to choose from, including a selection of mash and gravy flavours. It was so tasty we went back the following week for a roast, also fantastic and with extra crackling. Great service and nice clean decor so will be regular customers from now on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Glory_supreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Geese in new hands”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Really pleased The Geese has got someone who know's his stuff. Rob Allen used to be at The Shakespeare's Head in Chatham Place which was recently rated No.10 in the UK by Esquire magazine brings his winning formula to his latest venture. We really liked the relaxed and friendly atmosphere and his good traditional pub grub including Sunday roasts...not to missed and amazing sausage and mash in flavours which suited every one. Great ale too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere & friendly staff.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

having been told the geese was under new management I thought I'd go & check it out. I'm glad I did, the pub has had a whole new makeover, the staff were great & the food was brilliant(it is now a bangers & mash speciality pub).
I'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmas101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really excellent food and good vibes.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Geese has just reopened with new chef and owners.
The roasts are super delicious and a really decent price (about £8 i think- which is rare in Brighton). Loads of gravy, giant yorkshire pud, perfectly cooked veg.
Really nice friendly vibes, lovely staff, good cider on tap and excellent food. Couldn't ask for more.
I'll be going back on Wednesdays to try the 2 for £10 bangers and mash.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snakepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New owners means this is now my favourite hangout”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Not only has it been decorated and looks great but the food is fantastic and the staff really nice. It re-opened a few weeks ago and i've already been a few times and planning a group visit for the amazing Sunday roast.
I didn't think i could get so excited about bangers and mash but their food is well worth a visit for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Geese also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Geese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing