We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of open space to let off stream but could (should) be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanmer Park

Stanmer Park
Ranked #21 of 159 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brighton
Level Contributor
321 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lots of open space to let off stream but could (should) be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I went there with 3 children on a sunny day at the end of the summer holidays and the Park was surprisingly quiet.

There are hectares of open space and woods to run and cycle around. The café is average. The restaurant in Stanmer House looks swanky.

I know there are unofficial cycle tracks in the woods and I've heard that there's an official one as well, but it's impossible to find out info about it on the Council website or the National Park website.

For a supposed gateway to the National Park, it's underwhelming. I think there are moves afoot to improve this but updating a website shouldn't be too hard should it?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    52
    16
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Public place to get wood?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

That's sad people cutting wood for any reason, may be for fire, but doesn't look good. Funny no one saying anything but looking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SriLankanInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely ginger ale in Stanmer House bar, nice walk in the village and park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Took friends and family for a day out to Stanmer Park. we took a picnic and enjoyed sitting under a tree and eating it while we surveyed the beautiful surrounds. Then decided to pop in for a drink and a poke around in Stanmer House. very nice ginger beer made by a local company, whose name I cant remember unfortunately. Expensive but was worth it as we soaked in the old world atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrightonGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have visited this park since i was a child and the feeling of being in the middle of the countryside cannot be beaten. you can drive in and park easily at the front or at designated areas throughout the park, you can picnic, have a game of football with the children, search through the woods for squirrels and badgers, and if you walk further into the park or drive and park, there is a lovely church, pond and also a museum, there is a grand house near the pond and you could , no doubt spend the whole day here for free......with the city centre just a few miles down the road, and bus access from all around the city...what are you waiting for :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great place to wander”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stanmer Park in a lovely place for a wander . The feeling of been miles from the city centre is lovely. A bus journey soon gets you back into the city. The park is a great place for a family picnic or just to relax in

Helpful?
Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanmer Park also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Stanmer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing