We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not child friendly”
Review of Velo - CLOSED

Velo
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not child friendly”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I don't expect everywhere to cater for kids, but this is right next to a very busy playground and skatepark. However the staff seemed very frustrated that the place was full of parents and kids. So I guess it doesn't work out well for anyone really, the hipster cyclists are annoyed by the kids, the kids and their parents are made to feel unwelcome. Weird.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    5
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch served with a smile”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Use this place all the time for coffee - which is the best in town. Have taken the kids to the park and used the cafe for lunch afterwards, great food, just what the area needed. Toby has also serviced my bike - great job done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great atmosphere and consistantly great food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I love this cafe, its in a great location and has a very chilled out atmosphere. My kids love it and they can play in the skateboard park while we enjoy our lunch in peace. My husband really rates the bike mechanic Toby who did an excellent job servicing his bike. The Staff are gorgeous and smiley and the food is a bit more unusual to the obvious cafe choices I always find it hard to choose and i am never disappointed. I think the extra effort and quality make it great value.
Ann & family

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch, Great Coffee”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We popped in for coffee whilst out with some friends and their kids during the Easter Hols and were not disappointed. Proper coffee, made very nicely, good hot chocolate for the kids.
Stayed to have lunch as they had a kids-eat-free deal going. Great pulled-pork sandwich, delicious mac & cheese, lovely Darkstar Ale. Spacious and light decor with friendly staff in a great location - heartily recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff everywhere, rules everywhere!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This place looks great, bit pricey but sounds like good quality. But we weren't allowed to order because the kitchen had closed to get ready for lunch.. At 11.10. There were 4 chefs mucking about doing nothing, 5 others manning the coffee machine apologising to everyone looking embarassed. We had a coffee which was excellent, and went to MeatLiquor for food. Shame as it sounded great. We'll go back when the owners take back control.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveP2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Velo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing