We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cool little place.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candy Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kate17190...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Candy cottage review ”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely house and very nice stay, great location for the town centre.
Few issues, 1) had dirty towels but after speaking to cleaner we received clean ones in quick time. 2) the bloke Steve who was there when we arrived (1pm)smelt very strongly of alcohol & cigarettes, we all noticed this & was so bad we had to open doors to let fresh air in. 3) the house was definitely not clean to a good standard, we found pubic hair on the toilet & floor was not hovered, we cleaned the bathroom ourselves.
All in all I think the problems are down to the cleaning company hired & not the owners. We wouldn't book again because of the hygiene issues

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalalongf...
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool little place.”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Enjoy our stay. Candy House is very Brighton in terms of its style ( cool and quirky). Fantastic huge bed in the top floor bedroom, lovely bathroom. The living room is small and could do with more comfortable sofas but the quirkiness of the house makes up for it. About a 15 min walk from town/beach and a very steep hill but as long as you are fit and healthy then no problem. Really enjoyed the stay and Sophie is very welcoming. I would go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulahm17...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Accommodation”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Gorgeous, homely cottage, with very comfy beds and linen. Well equipped house within walking distance of everything. We had a lovely stay thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie M
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is in a perfect location with parks nearby and only a 15 minute walk to the pier! We loved the decor and the bedrooms are a great size. Thanks for a brilliant week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess B
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the Candy Cottage while taking part in a World Championships that was being held in Brighton this July. With hotels being very expensive in the area we decided to rent a house for the week instead. The cottage was perfect for our stay. There were 5 of us and it definitely suited our needs. The house was also perfectly located and we could for the most part walk most places. Would definitely recommend for any small group. The place was clean, and homey, and fully equipped with everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money in an area that is quite expensive to stay
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maltavist...
Malta
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had an amazing stay at candy cottage, the house was perfect for our weekend and everything it said it would be. Loved the decor throughout and contact with the owner was amazing throughout from booking to arrival. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thanks so much , we are really delighted you had a great stay ! Many thanks Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing