We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, superb staff and generous breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, superb staff and generous breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We loved Brighton and visited the royal pavilion for the first time. I would recommend a visit to enjoy the splendour and majesty. We also went on the brighton wheel which we really enjoyed. The food for friends restaurant was excellent and great vegetarian fare. We also enjoyed deck chairs on the beach sitting (and snoring! ) in the sunshine. A thoroughly enjoyable break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalliLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    240
    85
    43
    29
See reviews for
93
528
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

After getting stuck on the motorway for ages we arrived here, a chilled out place where we had the opportunity to relax right by the sea.

- parking is a nightmare but the hotel provides residential parking vouchers for £10 per 24hrs.

- we stayed in the oriental room which is fairly quiet and peaceful although compact as it states. It was clean the room was decorated nicely, the bathroom abit basic. Next time I would go for a bigger room.

- staff were polite and the veggie breakfast was lovely
-overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockermouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We paid £120 per night for the family room . a double and one single under ground level in the cellar at the back of the hotel ( see the photos I have put on the site ) .the only natural light therefore being 2 stories above the level of our room. The staff are good but it really wont make up for it if you are put in the dingy cellar room!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights in the Moroccan Room. Overall this boutique hotel is starting to look a little tired around the edges but it is in a great location and every member of staff was attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Great breakfast too. Definitely considering a return visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sea Spray for a last minute get away to Brighton and were fortunate that we had left booking until the last minute. We stayed in the Venetian Suite which would ordinarily be £140 but we were able to book that morning for £79. On this basis it was good value, but had we paid the standard room price we would have been sorely disappointed.

After a hellish journey, we were grateful to check in early as the room was ready. First impressions - good view, large room, tiny bathroom and a mattress that doesn't actually fit the bed. Room was clean but not particularly well thought out, the Venetian 'theme' extending to a couple of masks, a rather ugly painting of Venice and the ornate bed. The lady who checked us in was kind enough and took us to the room herself.

The location is good, 2 mins from the pier (not our cup of tea but it gives you an idea of how central it is) and 5-10 mins from the lanes. We parked on the square in front of the hotel which was £10 for 11 hours, not including overnight which is free (8pm to 8am I think).

We were too late in booking reservations for the Ginger Dog we had heard great things about, so instead opted for a rather disappointing pub in Kemp Town for our supper. Not to worry, the weather was rubbish so we retreated for a glass of wine at a restaurant nearby and looked forward to the 'award winning' breakfast the next day.

This breakfast was the most disappointing aspect of our break at Sea Spray. My partner and I are definite foodies so are perhaps judging this harshly, but it was honestly one of the most revolting breakfasts I've ever come accross. We both chose fruit to start, expecting a seasonal array of fruit (berries etc.) but what was served was cubed, discoloured apple and tinned mandarin. Not a great start, we both left this - it was reminiscent of the kind of fruit salad served at primary school dinners. We then both opted for the 'award winning' full breakfast. I'm not sure what awards this has won, but I think we'd have been better off at a little chef. Under cooked eggs, tinned mushrooms, ready made hash browns and a rather tasteless sausage. Tea served in hideous run of the mill metal pots and fake flowers completed the picture. The only plus that the service was reasonably good from the waiting staff.

Having been recommended this 'boutique' hotel by others we were fairly disappointed at what we discovered. It's really more of a b&b abs sadly does not live up to the expectations the attractive website promises.

Location good, service reasonable, breakfast poor. Take our advice and head to Bill's for your breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorzina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in July in the Geisha themed room.

Greeted with a friendly welcome when we arrived, the man on reception was helpful and let us know we could ask for advice or recommendations if needed.

The room was a decent size, the bed was huge and comfy, room decoration was simple and tasteful. The bathroom has a really good lighted mirror above the sink, powerful shower and lovely fluffy towels.

The location is really close to the pier and the Lanes, great base to wander about from.

Parking can be tricky, we got a space outside the hotel and paid at the machine which worked out cheapest.

Breakfast was delicious, we both had the full English and they were willing to substitute items at request.

I highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed for a night in July 13, the staff were very helpful on the phone regarding parking and checking in earlier if required and maintained the helpfullness upon arrival. The room was great, i wanted something a bit different from the normal small rooms and this was it. A large area, away from potential banging doors of neighbours with a very comfy bed, seating area, bar area and a well kept bathroom. The whirlpool bath was not quite as powerfu as i would have liked but enjoyable none the less. The breakfast was lovely and served by very accomodating and happy staff. Loved brighton laines and shopping, not so keen on the front. Would certainly go back and take the penthouse again, would also take our son with us. Thanks for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Penthouse, whole top floor, no contest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.8 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Property: Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Sea Spray Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing