We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore all negative reviews of this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Ignore all negative reviews of this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

I've recently come back from a long weekend in Sea Spray and had an absolutely fantastic time. Having stayed in most of the other upmarket hotels in Brighton, Sea Spray is by far the best value-for-money as they don't charge breakfast on top (and the English Breakfast is locally sourced and organic), and the service is really friendly.

I arranged a bottle of champagne on arrival and it was there, waiting and chilled. The room was big and had everything we wanted, and we were very close to the beach and Kemp Town's nightlife. Absolutely, 100% recommend it...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshcake71London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    240
    85
    43
    29
See reviews for
93
528
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

Having seen the hotel online, it sounded perfect, a real perfect imaginary get away place! However when we got to our room we felt as though we were in a sauna! The room was boiling!! We were sweating!! Not what we were expecting for the price we paid for the room!! To add to that, there was no room to move about whatsoever, we found ourselves dodging cupboards to avoid the bed. Not Happy!
We went down stairs and asked very politely for an extra fan (there was already one in the room) and they said they didn't have any. Having worked in hotels before i knew that this was unexceptable and the hotel would take responsibility for the room. Then we asked if we could have our money back so we could find a hotel that we could enjoy (we did go away to celebrate a birthday) but they repetedly said it is a non-refundable deposit. I myself was fully aware of that, and i would totally understand it if it was a personal problem, however when there is an obvious problem with the hotel itself, we should have never been refused our money back! After i pointed this out another receptionist said that we could move to a different room, but after the incident the weekend just didn't feel right staying there. Plus the bed in the new room was squeeking and wobbling all around.
Advice to you, be very carefull before you book, it may be classed as a 4 star, but to us it was 2star based on the first room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

When we arrived we were checked in by a very politeand pleasant gentleman, he checked us in promptly and carried our bag to our very own gracelands
We stayed in the Elvis room, which was very clean and well presented.
The room was big enough for us and have no complaints about the size of the room as it had everything we needed and more( an Elvis suit in the wardrobe) which my partner declined trying on ...hehehe
The breakfast was excellent as was the service, All the staff we came in touch with were very polite and although we only stayed over night we would deffinately stay again, I would recommend this Boutique Hotel.
As for the customer who thought a prison cell was more spacious, well all I can say is I wouldn,t know that personally.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fezzypoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Although we enjoyed our stay at Sea Spray, I dont really think it can be classed as a Boutique hotel - it merely has themed rooms. We stayed in the Brighton Pad - a family room which stated on the website that it had its own private outside Courtyard and seating area!! We thought this would give us extra space and We pictured ourselves enjoying a relaxing glass of wine sitting outside in the sunshine - The reality was that our room was in the basement at the back and the "outside courtyard" was infact just a tiny square space, more like a backyard with waste pipes and drains in it As we were below ground level, we had no sunshine, no fresh air and infact the rooms above us were obviously smoking out of their windows and flicking their ash and cigarettes on to our "courtyard" !! Also it was incredibly noisy with plumbing noises throughout our stay. The beds werent very comfortable and the room felt very stuffy and hot - possibly due to not having direct fresh air.

The staff were very helpful, polite and effecient - Breakfast offered a good choice in a pleasant dining room- extra tea and toast were offered each day and there was the facility to have breakfast served in your room for an extra cost.

After staying in many Boutique Hotels in Cornwall and Devon, we would not stay at the Sea Spray again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillabongShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

Recently stayed here for one night and would certainly stay again. Stayed in the "Elvis" room which had Elvis touches, but nothing over the top. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, General Manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Many thanks for your review,

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing a unique, friendly service, and I am glad that you enjoyed your ‘Elvis’ themed room.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Sea Spray in the near future.

Kind regards,

Neil Boyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

I have just returned from a three night stay at the Sea Spray, and it was without a doubt the highlight of my trip to Briighton. The staff couldn't have been more attentive, and the property itself was simply divine! We stayed in the New York Penthouse, and felt completely at home for the three nights that we stayed... that is if our home had a GORGEOUS whirlpool bath in it! The room itself was lush and beautifully clean. We had a delicious breakfast in our room for the first two nights, which was just perfect, and the third morning we joined the other guests in the Breakfast room, where the waitresses were faultless. The loaction is superb, walked to all the main attractions, and the map and handy hints on check in ensured that we saw pretty much everything! Would reccommed the Sea Spray to all of my friends, and will definately be back myself!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qabullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

From the moment you walk in this place stands out from any other hotel I have stayed in in Brighton (there have been a few!). The decor is clean, contempory and inspirational. The staff were friendly and informative and offered us a very warm reception. Our room had all the latest mod cons, and reflected the same attention to detail as the rest of the hotel. Being in a large group I was able to view most of the rooms and they all came up to the same excellent standard. Breakfast was delicous with lots of choice and no grease! Great value for money.Brilliant location for the town and beach. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, General Manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sea Spray.

I am pleased that you have had such a memorable stay with us. It is very important that all of our staff receive guest feedback feedback, and is wonderful to hear such a positive response. Our chief goal is to make certain that our guests are more than content with not only the facilities that they have booked, but also the service and atmosphere that they experience, and I am thrilled that these elements have been met during your stays with us.

I am pleased that your party was such a success, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Sea Spray in the near future.

With kind regards,

Neil Boyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Property: Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Spray Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing