We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant !!”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This hotel is just exceptional - The location is really good, seemingly just a short stroll from all that Brighton has to offer - Very clean, great room (we stayed in the New York Suite, which I would highly recommend) but what really makes it a great saty, are the helpful friendly staff who cannot do enough to help !
From the moment we arrived (a little early!!), they were top quality, offering help with everything from carrying the bags to recommending (and booking if required) a local restaurant.
We managed to go during the worst snow seen in southern England for many years and, when we woke (after a great nights sleep - really comfy beds and a quiet area) and deceided we needed to leave, reception arranged for a full cooked breakfast to be sent to our room early, so we were ready to go !
Cannot speak highly enough of the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_clanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, General Manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2010
Good afternoon,

I am so glad that you were able to return home safely in the snow to place such a lovely review!

I would like to thank you on behalf you myself and our team for your kind words. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our New York Penthouse so much. It is our aim to provide a quality service to all of our customers, and I am so pleased that our attention to detail made your stay so memorable.

I am so pleased also that our staff met your expectations. As a small property, we pride ourselves in our customer service, and it is so wonderful to have such positive feedback to share with the team. Our primary goal is that our guest’s expectations are exceeded, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast in bed. We strongly believe that guests deserve the service that they desire and deserve, and I am so pleased that we were able to demonstrate this to you.

I very much hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Sea Spray in the near future. All feedback is essential to ensure that we are achieving our goals, and I would like to personally thank you again for acknowledging this.

With kind regards,


Neil Boyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    245
    86
    43
    30
See reviews for
95
540
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I booked through the hotel's website and paid about half their usual rack rate as it was January, so no complaints there. However, if I had paid full price I'd have been livid.
I stayed for 2 nights in a double room. On arrival, the manager couldn't find my booking - that is to say, he knew I was coming but had mislaid the paperwork (the compiuter had a virus apparently). It happens. But it took 15 minutes from arrival before he finally gave up and showed me to my room (it didn't help that another guest demanded more milk for his tea and this took priority).
He offered to carry my small bag and was very courteous. The room was small for a double and themed - Marrakesh - but done slightly half heartedly (drawing pins to hold up the canopy on the ceiling?). The shower room was small as many seem to be in Brighton B&Bs / small hotels. But it was well decorated and spotlessly clean. A mini bar and kettle etc were provided, and appreciated. hey were also tuned in the wrong order which is just irritating rather than a crime.
Breakfast is from 8.30am which is fine if you're on a holiday but when you have to get to work or a conference, a bit of a cheek frankly. After 9pm there's nobody on reception but a sign says "You can use your mobile to call this (mobile) number in an emergency". Yet after midnight there seems to be a direct dial number! Bizarre.
The greatest crime in this place is the plumbing. every time someone turned on a tap the pipes in my room seemed to come alive. It actually woke me on the first night. On the second morning I was in the shower and the water suddenly turned scalding hot. After hurling myself out the shower and turning it off I couldn't get any hot water again - only freezing. Oh the irony when the snow was starting to settle outside!
In short, this hotel tries hard but misses some of the basics. It's fine for an occasional night, if you get a deal. But please, don't pay the full rate, there are far better (real) boutique hotels around.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, General Manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2010
Thank you for your review and the issues you raised. We always review customer’s experience with us and endeavour to address any problems experienced and put in place new systems to better improve our customers experience with us. We have weekly managers meetings where we do this and always have the customer’s best interest at heart. Our dedicated team strive to ensure that the best possible experience is had and we use customer’s comments as the basis for our brainstorming sessions – or attempt to help with things during the customer’s stay if they are brought to our attention.

We did indeed have a very new virus that had affected our systems the day before your arrival which seems to always coincide with the New Year. As all computer users know, these can be quite out of the blue and unstoppable in the beginning and even despite our anti-software devices being up to date, it had infiltrated our systems. We usually only print off customer’s records the day before to keep paper storage to a minimum and for security purposes so this rather unexpected and unwelcome virus had put a stop to us doing that.

With further investigation the customer had arrived quite early in the day (and much earlier than our guaranteed check-in times for when a room is ready for occupation plus at a time when our software engineer was around the computer and reception desk area. With all this taken into consideration, things were not where they should have been (despite reception having made a new booking form by hand from our back-up paper diary system - which was later found under the engineer’s laptop on reception – the usual human error in these occasions!). Nonetheless we acknowledge this is frustrating from a customer point of view with regard to delaying the usual prompt and efficient check-in procedures we pride ourselves on if a customer is keen to get to their room. We have addressed the issue of prioritizing serving a customer fresh milk in the interim and have retrained reception staff to ensure that this does not happen again.

With regard to the size of the room, our city double rooms such as the Marrakesh themed double are a standard double size room and have been passed as such by the English Tourist Board Inspectors who give us our annual rating and awards. The hotel acknowledges that they are the smallest of our room types and are categorized and priced as such to reflect this. They still have a standard double size bed, dressing table area, hanging space for clothes, long mirrors, minibar, flat screen tvs (tuned in correctly but guests do retune without our knowing from time to time which we strive to keep ahead of!) integral dvd/CD players, telephone, free wifi and tea/coffee trays which a good stock of different teas/sugars/biscuits and fresh milk on order from reception as an alternative to the carton variety. We also have ipod docking stations available for free hire from reception to add to the enjoyment of the rooms.

The shower and WC ensuite again is compact but has everything needed included a mirrored light, contemporary heated towel rail, electric shaver point and fully tiled with contemporary Italian style tiles. The plumbing is something we were concerned about having read this review as the problems were not pointed out to us during this customer’s stay. For a two night stay we would have moved the guest immediately if the shower was displaying problems the customer has now highlighted in the review.
We really do urge customers to allow us to help them if they are experiencing a problem by signs in the bedrooms and in the welcome pack – and even by quick dial keys on their telephones to reception. However we were not told there was a problem with the plumbing. We are obviously very distressed the customer had experienced the hot/cold situation but were unaware there was a problem and if we had we would certainly have moved them rooms immediately. Indeed the customer could have phoned either reception or our live-in nightporter directly from their room and we would have assisted immediately so they could have had a shower in a nearby room or in the spare shower room which is in fact next to the bedroom in question.

Our guarantee is to deal with maintenance issues within 24 hours and we have therefore since had a plumber look at the shower and the dial controlling temperature had broken. The part has now been replaced. The plumbing noises are unusual as we have a brand new (end 2008) pressurized plumbing system installed but the plumber said it could have been to do with the extreme cold weather and pipes feeling the strain under these adverse weather conditions. We are not sure how it affected the night time noise as we do not have any water machinery working at night but another guest may have had a nighttime shower to explain this.
With regard to our reception service and breakfast service we are sorry that the customer did not feel there was enough cover. We inform leisure customers on arrival that cooked breakfasts are usually served from 8.30 in the dining room up to 10 am (or 11 am at weekends) – or cooked breakfasts are available from 8am in the dining room if a customer is on business/has a preference for this. The hotel also offers continental trays to guest rooms free of charge if breakfast is required earlier than 8 am – and for busy conferences/group bookings cooked breakfasts are available in the dining room from 7.30 am.

We would like to clarify the reception service we offer at the hotel to assist with emergencies is 24 hours a day. Usual Reception services (ie for check-in/room service or special concierge services such as ordering champagne on ice to your room) is from 8 am to 9 pm midweek (or till 10 pm weekends). This is perfectly adequate most of the time for our customer’s needs and for our size of hotel (15 rooms). Customers are informed via confirmation email and on arrival that we offer these reception times and service - and via signs/welcome folder in their bedrooms once they are checked in. A switch between the manned reception and then to the Reception Manager’s mobile occurs between 10 pm and midnight before the Night Porter arrives on the premises and is then contactable via the direct dial key on the hotel telephone system which rings to his night porter’s office. At present we have not had any need to change this system as there is very little demand for assistance between 10 pm and midnight.

We are sorry if this system is confusing and it is certainly not our intention to do so. Our smooth running of the hotel and 24 hour emergency cover is what is important to us and hope that customer’s are reassured by this.

We regret that the customer was not entirely happy with our (perceived) service and we also profusely apologise for the untimely joint problems of an unexpected computer virus and an undetected plumbing problem – both of which have now been rectified. We do feel as a hotel we get the basics right and are proud of our level of service, customer care and conscientiousness and deserve our ‘boutique’ badge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This boutique hotel, situated in Kemp Town, is in a great location, close to bars, restaurants and the sea front. We stayed in the penthouse suite and even had a view of the pier. The room felt very private and although not huge for a suite, it was very comfortable. We enjoyed spending time there!

The staff are excellent and couldn't be more helpful.

The veggie cooked breakfast was delicious and the complimentary glass of bucks fizz on New Year's Day was a lovely touch.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I stayed here over christmas this year and had an excellent stay. A warm welcome and brilliant service. I have stayed here before and I can never fault it. Always one to recommend to both friends an family. Especially for its imaginative themed rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2009

My partner and I decided on a last minute trip away over Xmas and were in the mood for a little pampering. We wanted somewhere that offered a mix of great location, comfort, privacy, and attentive staff. The Sea Spray delivered in spades. We booked "The Boudoir" one of a range of themed rooms on offer and were delighted by the space and level of comfort it provided. A gorgeous 4 poster bed dominated the bedroom which was of course beautifully decorated in keeping with the boudoir theme. There was also a large living area with tv, stereo, mini-bar and a massive sofa for sprawling on. Completing the layout was a cute courtyard with seating for two. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and informative and truly made us feel as if we were friends and not guests.
When we did manage to tear ourselves away and venture out to explore we found we were a short walk from The Lanes (for shopping, restaurants & bars) as well as the sea-front and The Royal Pavillion. The location meant we could easily sample all of the delights Brighton has to offer.
I would go back in a heartbeat and have already recommended the Sea Spray to friends and family. Perfect...In every way.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimmyshyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitstable,kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

My wife and I stayed at Seaspray on Boxing Day 2009. We stayed in the "Oppulence" room which had a great view of the sea, The Facilities in the room were fantastic. The room size was generous with a lovely double seat by the window.
The breakfast was ordered and served at table freshly cooked and the staff were so friendly
We have never stayed in Brighton before and the location is so close to the "The Lanes" a quirky shopping and restaurant area with so much character and atmosphere.
We have decided to return later in the year with friends when the sun is shining. The other themed rooms look very inviting and can't wait to stay at this unusual hotel again
Give it a try....You won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrym500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southamtpon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

When I think of Brighton, I think of a vibrant city with a remarkably friendly atmosphere and an eccentric streak. Sea Spray is absolutely representative of this mindset. The staff are down to earth and extremtly helpful, the rooms are immaculate and the location of the hotel is perfect. My girlfriend and I had a really special couple of days there and wouldn't have swapped it for the world.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleymush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Property: Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Spray Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing