We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strawberry Fields(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$211
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
511
271
93
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
271
93
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubeden suiteelvis roommanhattan penthousevenetian suiteoriental roomindulgence suitethemed roomsindian summerbreakfast in bedmy partnermini barsea frontbrighton piercooked breakfastbooked last minutesmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

From the moment we arrived the staff were exceptionally welcoming and polite. We did not know the City very well at all and were very pleased to get some local knowledge from the young man on reception who was very helpful at guiding us through a map.
Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfotable. The lights were on and dimmed, curtains drawn and some ambient music was playing for us in the room to make us feel even more welcomed, which was a nice touch you don't often see. Having had to keep to a tight budget we were more than happy with the value for money of our City Double room that had everything we needed. We didn't really leave the hotel much at all but when we did pop out for some dinner and a bit of shopping we loved the fact that everything was so close by. Will be recommending this hotel to every one of my friends and will be back soon, thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyandmelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

My boyfriend and I decided to go away for one night over the Easter weekend at the last minute. Since we both stay in hotels with work quite frequently, we wanted something that was a bit unique, and independently owned, rather than a chain. The Seaspray sounded perfect, and they gave us a discount on the room when we called up to book! The staff were extremely friendly when we arrived, very professional, and let us know everything we needed.
Each of the rooms is themed - ours was "Indian Summer" and had a lovely fourposter metal frame bed with a silk bedspread. Unfortunately, the room was just too small for the appproximately £120 that we paid for the night - so small that the shower was actually built into the corner of the room, with only the toilet and sink in a separate en-suite - fine if you were paying £70 for a B&B, but not really fine for somewhere that markets itself as an upmarket boutique.
Breakfast was lovely (slow, but the waitress did apologise), and a great vegetarian as well as reqular English breakfast.
The location of the B&B was great - we were right by the sea (although not with a sea view - those rooms were even more expensive!) and only a short walk into town, but with lovely restaurants nearby, and not noisy at night.
We may just have been unlucky with the room size - the bed was very comfortable, there was a mini bar that was well stocked with things you would actually want, and the room was clean - but all in all we came away feeling that we'd been overcharged. With so much competition for accomodation in Brighton we probably wouldn't go back here - unless they had a sale on and we knew that the other rooms were bigger!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2010

Thank you for your review, feedback is important to us and we discuss areas where we can improve at our weekly managers meeting. I am pleased you liked our new lovely modern four poster bed and remarked on our brand new mattress as comfy as we always buy the best quality mattresses for the hotel plus noticed our indian silk bedspread which adds to the Indian theme ambiance we are trying to create.

This room is marketed as a cosy room and put in our cheaper category of rooms and we have tried to make the best of the space so that guests enjoy all the same facilities as larger rooms such as minibar, dvd player, ipod dock. Rooms in the other categories are larger, with some very spacious for the age of our Regency Building.

With regard to price, I am sorry if you think the price was too high but the night you stayed was during our peak Easter weekend and our prices are at our highest during our peak times. However, we also ensure we are very competitively priced for our star quality and location in Brighton with similar hotels at these times.

We are always offering very good rates at less peak times (midweek and winter weekends) if you do wish to return for ‘sale’ price rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Hotel with various themed rooms...I can't speak for all the hotel, just for the 'hove actually' room, which is in the basement, window looks up to view of people's feet etc....it's a very small room (for a luxury double)(for 2 people even)...the bathroom is very small, has no bath, has a sink so small you have to fill the kettle with cups of water..my girlfriend said it's quite good though, you can have a **** and wash your hands at the same time.....the 'wine of the month' with a sign next to it saying it's 'only £13.50' annoys me for some reason....either give it to me included in room cost or just put it in the mini bar, don't try and sell me stuff in my own over priced little room as soon as I set foot in it!! the quirky dressing room? is a converted cupboard, not suitable for full sized humans....okay, to the finer detail , there's no face cloth, no free conditioner, heatings on all day but off at night, can turn down radiator in the day, what do you do at night? an idea for a theme - a premier inn theme would be just fine, then again the hove actually theme isn't far off after all, I remember a student bedsit off sackville road that had similarities (but was bigger)...I guess the main problem is the website bigs up all the rooms (on top of wide angle photo's), but the website spiel surely doesn't apply to the hove actually room...it's not even close to value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jc10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2010

Thank you for your review, feedback is important to us and we discuss areas where we can improve at our weekly managers meeting. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations – usually this room is received very favourably by our guests as it is a spacious bedroom and very sunny – getting the full afternoon sun. The bathroom is a compact ensuite but still has a good quality shower and fittings. We do not advertise this room as having a bath and we also inform guests that it is lower ground if they book directly with us. This is also outlined on our webpage for this room.

I am sorry the kettle didn’t fit – it is meant to be a smaller hotel kettle in this room but it was swapped around duing one of our spring cleaning descaling programmes. We have subsequently returned to the room the correct size kettle for this room.

The Wine of the Month is usually very well received by guests. This is common practice in the boutique hotel industry. We deliberately went for an alcohol licence that allowed us to sell this in the bedrooms to give guests the additional choice if they do fancy a drink whilst in their room. We always have a very good wine from our chosen discerning wine merchant to give the maximum amount of pleasure to guests if they do choose to have a glass of wine in their room.

With regard to other accessories we do offer conditioning shampoo in the room so no need for a separate conditioner bottle and face cloths are available on request as outlined in our Hotels Extra Services folder listed under an A-Z format.

Our heating is on if it is cold (and we have had a cold spell this year) but all rooms have thermostats for adjusting temperatures. We usually have the heating on until midnight and it is not necessary to be on later unless it is very cold. It then comes on again in the early morning. Guests that wish for additional heating can do so and we provide fan heaters. We also have additional bedding in every room.

Once again I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Very disappointed with the Sea Spray. Covered in construction work. The penhouse suite we booked is smaller than my lounge. Also lots of tiny stairs. Breakfast was ordered but was late and with wholemeal when we asked for white. Showers/ bath water was very hap hazard. Either hot or cold. Some other people were complaining about their shower as well. Good location but I will go go Radisson next time. Granville is quite good

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2010

Thank you for your review, feedback is important to us and we discuss areas where we can improve at our weekly managers meeting.

I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. At the time of your stay we were having the front of the hotel painted which was why we had scaffolding up for 3 weeks. This is necessary work every 4 years to maintain our high standard of appearance.

The penthouse is one of our very popular rooms and usually received very favourably by our guests with a bedroom area with king size bed and lounge area. The bath on your day of visit had an airlock which our manager dealt with as soon as possible but with the nature of these things you never know when you are going to get one with so much pipework running through the buildings. It is a random and rare occurrence which we can only apologise profusely for and deal with as soon as possible.

Once again I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the quirky and well-located Sea Spray. It was nice to wake up on my birthday in such a lovely and unique room(Geisha Room) and have such a nice, filling breakfast to tuck in to! Having stayed in numerous other hotels in Brighton before, which were quite disappointing and over priced, it was refreshing to have a big breakfast included in the price and to be able to leave luggage in a safe place upon check-out, whilst we could go off exploring. Very good value, very well worth a stay and we'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dommi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews