We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location, though room was slightly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location, though room was slightly disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

From the very earliest opportunity, the hotel showed the utmost attention to service. They could not have been any more helpful or friendly. The staff should be applauded.
The hotel is located just off of St. James Street, so is ideally located for the town and seafront, while being just far enough away to not be in middle of the city.
I have to say though, that for the nearly £160 we paid per night, the room was disappointing. We stayed in the Elvis themed room, (which was a bit tacky, but we didn't mind that!) The room was extraordinarily warm, even though the windows had been left open, and the weather was particularly British (not that warm.) (We had to leave all of the windows open all 3 nights, with the accompanying sea gull and street noise that this brought.) The room was very cramped, with just enough room to fit the required furniture in, With an unnecessarily large four poster bed (even though the bed was actually just a double, and so not really that big when in it!) The Bathroom was very well appointed and had a lovely shower, but again, was just big enough to be functional, but not comfortable.
The room had thick dust in places (on the structure of the bed, under the bed, on the electric fan, etc. which might have been acceptable in cheaper hotels, but I think not at this price level. (The room had a well stocked and reasonably priced mini bar, a good, though small LCD TV and a DVD player with Elvis DVD!)
The breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere, all the ingredients were top notch and again the service was faultless. (We even got complimentary Bucks Fizz!)
The hotel offered spa like services which all looked very good and reasonably priced, though we didn't get a chance to use them unfortunately.

So to summarise: Top notch service and staff, excellent location and top quality breakfast, let down by rooms that either need to be better or cheaper.

(p.s. if you are driving to Brighton and staying here or nearby, track down the NCP car park just off St. James (quite hidden and not sign posted), as it is only £10 for 24 hours parking, and is much cheaper than parking on the road or in the city centre.)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBoyce, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Thank you for placing a review - these are very important to us, both with providing us with positive feedback and highlighting areas which we need to improve upon. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our concept of themed rooms and that you found our hotel team helpful, friendly and professional - which is our ultimate goal here and we all strive to do as much as possible to make our customer's experience an enjoyable one. Your comments on the housekeeping issues are a surprise to us as we have very high standards in this area and won a Silver Award from the English Tourist Board (VisitBritain)for our high standards in this area. I have looked into this and we believe that this room had been cleaned by a new housekeeper following a long stay in this room and not been checked by a manager that day. Systems have been tightened to ensure this does not happen again and a member of the team is always on hand to assist with additional cleaning/maintenance if it is brought to our attention during a guest's stay.
The pricing issue you have raised is difficult for us when customers have purchased rooms through third-part sites/travel agents and the prices are different from our direct hotel prices as the room price can be inflated with commission charges - (which was the case here). We are always happy to offer guests a preferential price if they wish to return and book direct on the next visit. Finally thank you for complimenting us on our award-winning breakfast - we achieved this award in June 2010 and we are very proud of it using the best local ingredients and great free-range eggs. We have also perfected our own home-made hollandaise sauce for the Eggs Benedict which some of our customers who are chefs have said it is one of the best they have tasted! Yours sincerely Neil Boyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    241
    86
    44
    29
See reviews for
93
532
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

The hotel was clean and modern, with friendly and helpful staff. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was up-to-date, clean with useful toiletries provided. Night-time was peaceful and quiet, so we woke up refreshed for the day. The breakfast was especially good - delicious fresh fruit salad and well cook breakfast with fresh ingredients (the mushroom were lovely!) We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Sea Spray for a weekend and were allocated the Geisha room at £150 per night. It looked lovely from the picture on the site but in reality it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. The room had a huge bed but it turned out to be two twins together with that unbearable ridge. The bed virtually took up the whole room. There was a small wardrobe but the mini fridge was in there so you couldn't hang any longer clothes. There was no chest of drawers or anywhere to put your bag. The shower was small too.
The room looks out onto a flat roof and a high wall and an assortment of rubbish in next door's garden. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is good but for that money I would choose a hotel with a larger room and a view of the sea.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

From the second we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel welcome. The gents on reception were very help ful letting us know the best places to go depending on what we were after. Our bedroom was spotless (we stayed in th Geisha Girls room) with a fully stocked mini bar. breakfast was great with alot of choice and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny301086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

The B&B staff were so warm and welcoming on our arrival and went beyond the call of duty to help my friend and I store our expensive road bikes (as we'd cycled to Brighton from Tunbridge Wells). The room was the Manhatten Penthouse and was beautifully decorated and had a whirlpool bath with lights which was very relaxing after our 42 miles in the saddle. The breakfast was faultless, bacon very good indeed and again the lady that served us was really friendly and warm. I honestly couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough and will be telling friends and family about it as I don't believe anyone staying there would be disappointed in anyway.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeches14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

One evening, in Abingdon, still having to decide where to spend the thursday night.
Brighton was the idea, so internet search!
Wow, my spouse fell asleep, no better chance for a surprise treat then!
Immediately stunned by the variety of services/treats offered by the hotel on the website and by the ease of surfing/purchasing on line.
Only promises on paper? Absolutely not, have gone for the treats package and for a bouquet of flowers: everything was looking even better than imagined!
The room was very well prepared, nice tase in setting it up! Deliciously chilled champagne, very nice rose petals on the bed, nice chocolates and, on top of it all, the flowers: again, what a taste! Liliums and sunflowers showing all of their beauty.
So, all in all, such a charming place, experience to be repeated!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YSoulTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

My family and I (5 of us) spent one night in the Boudoir Suite downstairs, this was a perfect room for us, the kids (aged 15, 10 and 8) had the front room, with the big TV, which felt like their own living room, whilst we had the back room. Location is great- right by the pier, as was the breakfast the following morning. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgood001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Boutique Hotel

Property: Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Spray Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing