We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, bubbly service, reasonable value”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #17 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed one night. Location is good. Welcome was warm and friendly.
Room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean (free snickers bars - result!) and a nice balcony. Decent bathroom - nice towels, shower gel etc.

We didn't wake up in time for breakfast (was served until 9.30, which is a bit early for us... - maybe it should be longer) so we didn't get chance to eat there, but overall we had a great stay and were made to feel very welcome.

Note it's a bit of a yomp to/from the train station (about 25min walk) so get a cab (about a fiver) if you don't fancy lugging your bag.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evanscm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for The White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Had a great one night stay at the White House. The owner was accommodating and cheerful, despite my request for an early breakfast! (which was served with a smile). Nice to have a B&B experience that is more modern and homely rather than the lace and doily fest that seem to still dominate the B&B world. Will definitely return with my wife.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank MarkAndAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for a weekend in May, on my own. My room (room 6) was small but big enough, great bed, great shower and lovely view of the sea. I only met Sean (co- owner) and he was very friendly and helpful- my room was ready by 10:30am and his suggestions for areas to visit and places to eat were spot- on. Room was serviced every day.
Location was perfect for me as it was away from the super tourist/ noise centre but within 5-10mins walk of same. Located in Kemptown, there are loads of places to eat and purchase food nearby and the neighborhood is funky, arty, and fun. 2minutes to the sea, 25mins walking to the train station, 10mins to numerous buses.
Price was reasonable for Brighton and I would definitely stay here again. Next time, will bring my partner and stay in room 1 or 3, which although do not have quite the view as from the 2nd and 3rd floors, have their own balcony with seating overlooking the sweet courtyard.
My only complaint was that the sound carried between rooms quite well and the family beside me included two children who were not discouraged from howling demands at 7am! But that's more about bad parenting than the accommodation.
Really felt at home here and will return whenever I get back to Brighton.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAlagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The White House was a lovely boutique B&B which had a great mixture of modern and vintage style decor. The room size was great, the bed was VERY comfortable, making it difficult to make it down for the locally sourced full english breakfast!

The bathroom was a good size, the shower was a little weak but I'd put that down to being on the 4th floor.

We had a great sea view room, and the B&B had a small courtyard out the front, which was perfect for a couple of drinks in the sunshine before heading into The Lanes.

Would recommend to anyone who wants a romantic break away within walking distance to the busier shopping and nightlife areas that Brighton is so famous for. The owners were very accomodating, even for a spot of late night ironing!

Room Tip: Go for Room 8 for a lovely sea view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Although you a right in the middle of town the hotel is very quiet, the rooms are well appointed very comfy and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was excellent, the owners are friendly and helpful and are clearly passionate about the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozzybozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I wanted to show my British boyfriend the Brighton experience and this was the perfect hotel to do it in - lovely and welcoming with British, seaside charm in a modern twist. The decoration was beautiful, the owner incredibly accomodating and the breakfast delicious.

Would recommend to anyone who is avoiding a run-of-the-mill hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed two nights and felt at home from the minute Charlie met us at the front door. Room 1 was beautifully decorated and everything was just so...including a snickers bar and bottle of water to keep us going. Sean's breakfasts were legend. The location was excellent, near the seafront but far away from any noise at the top end of the street. Kemptown is very lively and the tiny Hand in Hand pub is close by. We really enjoyed our peaceful stay, pity the weather was so bad we could not enjoy the balcony. Would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Don't walk fro the station with a case - it's too far
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christheblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £78 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing