We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights, booking was simple and personal, with an exchange of e-mails about gluten free requirements. Sean also kindly phoned on the day of arrival as a reminder that check-in is by appointment - but that was no problem at all and we had a really friendly welcome. Web site is excellent, my room was completely true to the photo and description - a small double room but perfectly adequate since it was airy and light, it was not cramped in any way. There was plenty of storage and a lovely modern shower room with Orla Keily products. Thoughtful touches in the wide variety of teas and a chunky Kitkat to ward off midnight munchies. Absolutely spic and span - spotless. Quieter location than central Brighton, just a stride from the beach and only 10-15 minutes from the Brighton Centre. Breakfast choices are amazing and the quality of food served here is first class - better than I could make for myself. Recommend to everyone - hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    40
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
157
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights at this very relaxing establishment and cannot fault it in any way. All staff most welcoming and very friendly. Good location. Breakfast perfect and our room was lovely.Will most certainly stay here again when next visit Brighton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner could not fault this charming place in any way, having stayed in Brighton on many occasions in hotels such as the Thistle and My hotel we found the White house to be exactly what we were looking for, brimming with personality and character. We will certainly be back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jake g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice rooms & nice breakfast Longish walk to where you have to park, asked for white bread for breakfast but didn't have any! A lot of confusion over payment, got asked for my bank details for a second time once we arrived home! Manger was out when we arrived and text us as soon as we was in our room asking how things was... Abit weird!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmfs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was perfect. Wonderful room (kindly had an upgrade) with beautiful but simple decor. Great location, right opposite the sea and around a 10 minute walk from shops. Breakfast was lovely and service was great. Have already recommended it to friends and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felizabethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The White house is in a perfect location in Brighton, close enough to the peir and shopping.

I was very impressed with the whole package, room fantastic, staff fantastic and breakfast fantastic.

I could not have asked for a better place to stay.

I will be returning as quickly as possible to room 3 which was perfect for a long weekend!

Room Tip: room 3 is the most expensive but is well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Kate and I (Simon) spent Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday nights in room 1 , a spacious airy and light bedroom tastefully decorated with the huge bonus of a balcony with French doors overlooking the small courtyard front garden along with a spotless ensuite shower room .
From the initial contact,booking and welcome upon arrival everything was perfect, Sean was a tremendous host.
The breakfast is deservedly a prize winning one and most of the ingredients are locally sourced you can certainly tell.
Thank you Sean and to your staff , we will return later in the year , if we can afford it after our daughters wedding

Simon and Kate

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SimonnKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.2 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing