We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a romantic weekend...”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic weekend...”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed in Room 5 - on the 2nd floor with a partial view of the sea.
The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Everything about the Whitehouse - from the lovely room to delicious breakfast (highly recommend the smoked salmon scrambled eggs!) - shows that the proprietors take pride in getting every detail right. Can't think of anything that I'd have changed - and I'm really fussy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty_R_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    40
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
158
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2009

The white house is a gem of a hotel, with a great host in Shaun. He goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable and is always happy to help no matter what you phone him up for! Me and my girlfriend spent the weekend there and it was the perfect place to stay. There's fantastic attention to detail, the small double rooms are compact but very comfortable, with all needs catered for, and the breakfasts are top notch. There's nothing else i can say apart from we'll be back again soon, can't wait to stay there in the summer!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We had a one night break at the White House at the end of March 2009. I had spent loads of time looking at other Hotels in Brighton including the Hotel du Vin etc , however I really liked the web site for the White House and all the reviews were excellent and consistent.
I am really pleased to say that we were not disappointed! Shaun was a great host, really friendly and happy to chat. He upgraded us straight away which was a very nice touch. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome.
The White House is decorated in a simple but stylish way and everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good too!
We have already recommended the hotel and would definitely return for another visit.
The owners deserve to be proud of how they run the hotel and look after their guests.
Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feebeeSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My daughter (19) stayed here last week and we had a ball.
We were greeted by Sean and felt right at home immediately, I went and parked whilst my daughter picked out a room, there was a choice of two. Although our double was a bit small (especially when covered with shopping bags) it was perfectly formed, decorated beautifully and had everything we needed. Next time we'll book well in advance and bag a bigger room.Breakfast was delicious. Sean suggested places to eat in the evening, and we weren't disappointed, Just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls Colne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Really enjoyed our stay. Sean, the owner, was a very likeable guy who really made us feel welcome, offering us advice about brighton that served us well. The room was spacious and clean, the bed comfortable, and the ensuite large. Breakfast was a highlight, V. delicious. Location was just right, to the front a pleasant stroll along the seafront and you were in the centre of brighton, to the back a myriad of different shops to explore as you head towards the centre. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenpringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We booked The White House having read the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We certainly were not disappointed. Sean was there to greet us when we arrived and immediately made us feel very welcome. Our room was bright and airy with sea views. Fabulously decorated with modern furniture and lots of thoughtful extras that make all the difference. The bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave it! But the breakfast was worth getting up for! The veggie breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. The White House is perfectly situated just a short stroll from the centre of Brighton along the seafront. Parking is easy - Sean advised us about the best place to park, which again is a very short stroll from the Guest House - and not expensive. Over the years, we have stayed at a number of B&Bs in Brighton and this one is easily the best. We look forward to staying there again - hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyandSueN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

What a brilliant place to stay. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here recently - everything was exceptional. We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this one rates as one of the best - if not the best B&B we have stayed in. It was beautifully clean, the bed was comfortable, the decor was lovely and the breakfasts delicious. Sean was an excellent host - on arrival, our room was immediately upgraded at no extra cost - I have never experienced that before. We had originally planned to stay 3 nights, but as we enjoyed it so much we booked another 2 nights. I would recommend it to anyone, whether for business or pleasure. It may be a little bit more expensive than other B&Bs but it was worth every penny. Having read all of the other reviews, I thought sounded almost too good to be true - but it isn't.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing