We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ungracious and mean-spirited”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ungracious and mean-spirited”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

My elderly father and I were planning a day's holiday in Brighton which we were looking forward very much. I made a booking on the Wednesday for the following day. Unfortunately, the next day he was not well enough and i was going to have to propose the trip. I phoned to cancel the night and rebook, but shocked to discover that the hotel would charge us full price for two rooms! Not a very nice way of going about business and certainly not what I would expect from a place that prides itself on being family run.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boybrighton, owner at The White House, responded to this review, 23 October 2009
It's disapointing that this guest felt the need to leave a negative and frankly unfair review...

The customer made this booking online using our booking engine. It is clear to see our cancellation policy on the booking screen before you book and before a booking can be made the customer has to check a box to say that they agree to our terms and conditions. Once the booking is made the customer receives a confirmation e mail re stating our cancellation policy, It simply couldn't be clearer. On the morning of the guests expected arrival my partner called to confirm her arrival time, at no point in the conversation did the customer mention that her father was ill or that she may have to cancel her booking. Her estimated check in time was 5pm, she phoned us at 4pm (yes, just one hour before she was due to arrive) to cancel both the rooms which she had booked. At no point did she mention that her father was ill or that she wanted to re book. Guests cancel bookings sometimes, that's a fact, but we pride ourselves on being fair. We would have happily transferred her booking to another date. She was not charged full price for the two rooms, we took off the cost of breakfast, heat, light and housekeeping. Had she given us more notice and we been able to resell the rooms she wouldn't have been charged at all. Although family run, I think most reasonable people will understand that it's still a business and cancellation policies are put in place to protect us from people cancelling rooms at such short notice. We are not being ungracious or mean spirited, to my knowledge, there is not a hotel in the world that would not charge a guest for cancelling their booking an hour before they were due to arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    40
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
158
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

This place is a gem. Great value for money, and the attention to detail is impressive. The rooms are small, but this comes with the territory when you stay in a townhouse hotel. I paid £55 for a single room, but was upgraded to a double by the proprietor, for the same price. The room came with tv, WiFi, White Company cosmetics, decent shower, chocolate and tea/coffee. The breakfast options, included in the price of the room, are impressive. I stuck to toast and coffee, but the lovely cafetiere of fresh coffee, and homemade marmalade turned a standard breakfast into a delicious treat.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escaping from town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Having stayed one Saturday night at the White House, we'd come again in a heartbeat.

The hotel is located a short walk along from the pier to the east, well past the noisier club/hotels of Legends and the like.

We took the Suite Room (one shown in the hotel's picture here, and on the higher price bracket for the rooms) and it was clean, stylish, spacious and comfortable. The owners really pay attention to the little things, making the place seem very homely. You're greeted by chocolate bars along with your tea-making gear, and the presentation of the room upon arrival was immaculate--particularly impressive given that Sean had told us he had baby-sitting duties to attend to! Without my knowledge a bottle of champagne had been ordered by the wiser half, and this was fresh out of the fridge waiting for us in our room on arrival. Top notch.

Sean was also full of advice about the local area and places to eat. We took his tip on an Italian just off St James Road which gave us an excellent meal and evening. If you're looking, these are all in the White House guide that sits in your room. Breakfast was the delight described by others all too well here - a perfect way to start the following day.

If you're looking at a short or longer stay in Brighton, comparing the price of staying here to many of the larger hotels and bed and breakfasts, we'd choose this place every time in terms of quality and value for money. Thanks for a great time, we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-great-escapees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Stayed at the b&b for two nights on weekend in August. It is around 10 mins walk into centre on Brighton and is just off the promenade. It is in quiet location but close enough to the main attractions. Had good sleep with little noise outside. The b&b is spotlessly clean and our room had lovely view of the sea. The room had lcd tv, tea and coffee facilities with kit kats etc. Bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was excellent with wide variety of things to eat and the owner (Sean) accomodated our request for early breakfast on the saturday. He also recommended good places to eat and was happy to communicate via email prior to our stay. All in all an excellent stay in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

No exaggeration, The White House is remarkable by any scale. Sean is a fantastic host and possibly even a better chef--the breakfasts are amazing. I still dream about them. The rooms are beautifully designed, clean, and modern. If you're new to Brighton, Sean will offer directions, suggestions, and other helpful advice. The location is great as well, with views to the sea and close to the city center, restaurants, pubs, cafes, etc., but a decent distance from the noisier sections of Brighton. A truly wonderful place to stay.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank slim_mmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Very friendly welcome upon arrival - we were given a map and had the basics of getting around Brighton explained. Our room was number 5 which was perhaps a little smaller than expected but other than that the view of the sea was lovely & everything was sparkling clean. The bed was comfy & it was very welcome having an Ipod dock, so you can relax to some of your own music. Breakfast was yummy - the only negative was that it took a very long time to come (which they did apologise for). All in all an extremely pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsmiaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffs
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

In the age of the internet it is so easy to just keep looking at all the different options and in particular I use Trip Advisor to try and avoid bad experiences. So thought i'd add my own contribution to what is clearly a chrous of approval as I just spent a couple of nights in the junior suite at the White House. I found it really exceptional from its lovely decor to sleeping in a bed that was so beautiful and comfortable it was truly to die for! Over the last week I have stayed in several places and can assure you that Sean was the best by a country mile, whilst others places offer service, I found Seans style to be really genuine, sincere and a bit like visiting a friend rather than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing