We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My boyfriend and I have just had a lovely weekend at The White House staying in room 5 (with sea view).
It's a great place, quiet, clean, warm, lovely staff and fab breakfast. We parked just up road for £4 for the entire weekend as the hotel is within walking distance of everywhere.
The location is great - close enough to walk and away enough to be quiet.
A slight negative thing, our mattress was quite thin - it took a while to get comfortable. Also, it is an expensive place to stay. I'm sure you could probably get somewhere cheaper just as nice if you looked around.
That said we really did enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinationFuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    40
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
158
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Stayed with mother and grandmother over Christmas and were given a great welcome. We had 2 doubles and a single and all were immaculately furnished, with comfy beds and little extras like the toiletries, big white bath robe and thoughful tea/coffee tray which even included some generous festive treats. We were looked after wonderfully and it was just a shame we couldn't stay for longer, or didn't get a chance to try any of the fabulous sounding breakfasts as we ate with the rest of the family that we were visiting. One of the best B&Bs we've been to - would put many hotels to shame. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharky45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed for 1 night on 20th Dec. as a birthday treat and to do Xmas shopping. Friendly welcome by Sean who also cooked an excellent and generous breakfast. Stayed in room 1 which was clean & warm but bed had a very thin mattress and the TV poor reception. Good location as only 15mins walk to centre but no carparking on site so had to pay an extra £5 to park in nearby street. Would recommend but considred £140 a bit steep given the time of year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birthday49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Located on a quiet street in Kemptown, we found the room clean, comfortable and roomy. We had a double with a view of the sea and it was just right. My wife and I had the full english breakfast both mornings, and it was excellent. Not greasy, but clean food, well put together. The place was quiet, near to the antiques shops in Kemptown, an easy bus ride (#7) from the station, and 5 minutes from the Pier. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This is a great guest house that benefits from being family run but doesn't scrimp on the professional finish. The owner was so helpful and friendly and the room was clean and well thought out, right down to the chocolate with our tea and water bottles. The very best thing about The White House is the breakfast, it is amazing. Well worth getting out of bed for, despite the hangover you might have from sampling Brighton's nightlife.

My one complaint is having to pay extra for the parking, but any Brighton veteran will know that parking is a nightmare anyway!

I really reccommend this place. GO!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Thank you to Sean and the team at the white house for an excellent three day stopover in Brighton on business. Sean was extremely accommodating, came in to cook breakfast earlier than published and was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate and comfortable with all those extra little details like four pillows instead of two, massive fluffy white bath towels and a chocolate bar in addition to the standard tea & coffee tray.

I would gladly recommend the White House to anyone who needs a comfortable convenient and welcoming place to stay within a few minutes walk of the sea.

Thank you for creating a home from home.

Alain Greaves
Be All U Can.com

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeAllUCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2009

My elderly father and I were planning a day's holiday in Brighton which we were looking forward very much. I made a booking on the Wednesday for the following day. Unfortunately, the next day he was not well enough and i was going to have to propose the trip. I phoned to cancel the night and rebook, but shocked to discover that the hotel would charge us full price for two rooms! Not a very nice way of going about business and certainly not what I would expect from a place that prides itself on being family run.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boybrighton, owner at The White House, responded to this review, 23 October 2009
It's disapointing that this guest felt the need to leave a negative and frankly unfair review...

The customer made this booking online using our booking engine. It is clear to see our cancellation policy on the booking screen before you book and before a booking can be made the customer has to check a box to say that they agree to our terms and conditions. Once the booking is made the customer receives a confirmation e mail re stating our cancellation policy, It simply couldn't be clearer. On the morning of the guests expected arrival my partner called to confirm her arrival time, at no point in the conversation did the customer mention that her father was ill or that she may have to cancel her booking. Her estimated check in time was 5pm, she phoned us at 4pm (yes, just one hour before she was due to arrive) to cancel both the rooms which she had booked. At no point did she mention that her father was ill or that she wanted to re book. Guests cancel bookings sometimes, that's a fact, but we pride ourselves on being fair. We would have happily transferred her booking to another date. She was not charged full price for the two rooms, we took off the cost of breakfast, heat, light and housekeeping. Had she given us more notice and we been able to resell the rooms she wouldn't have been charged at all. Although family run, I think most reasonable people will understand that it's still a business and cancellation policies are put in place to protect us from people cancelling rooms at such short notice. We are not being ungracious or mean spirited, to my knowledge, there is not a hotel in the world that would not charge a guest for cancelling their booking an hour before they were due to arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing