We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent once again”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #38 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

We booked for my 40th weekend and what a fantastic stay!! Rooms , breakfast, location all excellent!! Hosts lee and Marcus were first class again!! I will now not stay anywhere else but here in
Brighton l!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Amherst Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

A wonderful boutique hotel, modern interior, gorgeous fluffy towels, luxury duvet, short stroll to town. Marcus really friendly and helpful. Cannot find fault - the whole place is really neat, tidy and spotlessly clean. Parking is on the street, but we easily found a spot on the sea front. Will definately return.

Room Tip: We were in the junior suite - we were warned it was on the top floor, but we hadn't expected 5 f...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Amherst Hotel in Brighton is an absolute gem. Having just spent a long weekend there, I would commend it to anybody. The taxi from Brighton Station cost £6 and the owners, Lee & Marcus were there as we drew up to take our cases to our room. All of the regency style houses in Brighton are tall and thin so we were prepared for stairs. Our room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. We had a wonderful sleigh bed with crisp, white bed linen and a silk throw. In addition there was a two seater leather settee plus a small dining table and two chairs. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided, with complimentary biscuits, and were refreshed daily. From the bay window side view we looked at the sea which was just a few hundred yards away. Breakfast is served until a very civilised 10am, and was cooked beautifully, served on delicate white china and with the best coffee I have tasted for a long while. The fresh, white linen napkins were indeed a touch of class. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute stroll from Brighton's Lanes and city centre shops and only round the corner from the Brighton Eye and the pier. We asked for recommendations for restaurants and we took up the suggestions. The Melrose for traditional fish & chips was wonderful, a family run restaurant along the front just past Regency Square. The Old Bank in Kemptown, not a ten minute walk from the hotel, serves a very tasty steak!
It was the additional touches that make this hotel stand out. When booking I had mentioned that it was to celebrate our wedding anniversary so we were delighted to find a Happy Anniversary banner across the fireplace and a gift of a bottle of wine. Our room was furnished tastefully and was very comfortable, the shower was powerful and hot. We will go back!!

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the higher the floor, two rooms on each floor. Room 7 was at the front...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Lovely stay. Marcus welcomed us warmly when we arrived. He was the perfect host, catering for all our needs. My partner is coeliac and Marcus provided an excellent breakfast with some gorgeous gluten free bread and muffins. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The décor is tasteful and the rooms are very clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Booked this hotel for a birthday break in Brighton and was thrilled with the welcome and the care and attention we received. Upon opening the door to our room, we were greeted with banners, a balloon, the lights were on and it was just so inviting. The wine I had requested was waiting for us, making for a very happy start to a wonderful weekend. Our room was lovely with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Thank you, Lee & Marcus, the care shown to guests, as well as your lovely sense of fun really makes Amherst stand out. Look forward to you saying 'fáilte' to us again before long!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank maighe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Amherst on a lovely sunny windy weekend in Brighton. The welcome was lovely and the room was well equipped and comfy - we paid for a parking voucher and parked right on the seafront.

The breakfast was fine (although I'm not a huge fan of picking my breakfast options the afternoon before). Wish we'd picked to have the full English after seeing it!

All in all, would recommend as a good B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLovelyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What can I say? Great Welcome, great hosts, great hospitality, great room, great location and great time had. This reviewing lark is so so difficult because it's a reputation on the the line. Lee and Marcus need not worry though.

From the warmest of welcomes to the additional night without hassle, to the invite for complimentary evening drinks, The Amherst earned everyone of it 5 blobs. The room it's self was well presented and in an area with so much competition in the 'boutique' stakes, maintaining that must be hard work in itself.

I take my hat off to Marcus and Lee and have no hesitation in recommending The Amherst to all. Brilliant job !

Room Tip: Main road to front, but that also presents sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0nfr0mL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 94 in Brighton
684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#44 of 94 in Brighton
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#56 of 94 in Brighton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#39 of 94 in Brighton
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#6 of 94 in Brighton
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#25 of 94 in Brighton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing