We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #39 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Second time around”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It was still lovely - a very warm welcome and really quick response to emails when I had some questions. Much was the same as before - we booked a junior suite and like before lovely and big, fabulous bed and bathroom with all the facilities and extras you could hope for. Ear plugs provided to help ease the noise of the seagulls. One big change was a real disappointment - the charge of £4 to have breakfast served in the room (the thing we commented on as being a favourite feature last visit!) We ate in the dining room instead and had the complimentary continental breakfast. It was very nice - although I did not like having my crunchy nut cornflakes served to me in a bowl (and poured from some unknown box in the kitchen - not sure they were Kellogg's). An improvement on last time was the availability of on street parking vouchers - £10 for 24 hours (we arrived just after midday and had parking until 1pm the next day) which is such good value in Brighton.

Room Tip: Be mindful that the building is over several floors - we were in a junior suite, rm 7 and it was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalierankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
It is so nice to welcome back guests to our little gem by the sea..It seems to tell us we are doing something right!

It was a pleasure to have you stay again and hopefully were see you for a third time!

Thanks again.

Lee&Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
189
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at this B&B four four nights. The guys that run the Amherst are delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The location of the guest house was perfect, with the beach six doors away, and the antique shops at the other end of the short road. The centre of Brighton is easily accessible and and the pier a five minute stroll away. As for our room, well, spot on. Well decorated, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. All in all, impressive - a definite revisit required. Thanks Guys! Zoe & Paul

Room Tip: Don't ask for room three, it's MINE!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We are so delighted you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us...We feel this the whole point of coming away for a couple of days and we are glad you enjoyed it.

it would be great to see you again very soon.

Marcus&Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our daughter's graduation. It was such a shame that found it right at the end of her time at Sussex University rather than at the start as we would certainly have stayed here on other occasions.

The location is good. Very near the seafront but not right in the centre of the town, but only a few minutes walk.

Our room was lovely. Very 'boutique' and nicely designed. Care had certainly been taken with the look and feel of the hotel. The room had everything that a woman could want! Special little touches like extra luxury toiletries, good, proper hairdryer rather than one of those awful chain ones that don't stay turned on! Ipod dock and even free water and crisps.

The booking process was charming with lovely personal emails being sent to arrange the owners to meet and greet you on arrival - much nicer than the larger, more expensive hotels.

The owners were very pleasant and served a great breakfast in the sweet little dining room.

Thank you Amherst for a lovely stay. I certainly will be back when I visit Brighton and have already recommended you to others. One question. Why do large hotels charge more and provide less???

Room Tip: We had the pink room in the picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write a review we realise how busy everyone is and it really does mean the world to us.

we are delighted that enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you
Lee&Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The owners, Lee and Marcus, made us feel very welcome from the outset. They are genuinely attentive to their guests needs. And as many people have said before us, nothing appears too much for them.

My wife and I, along with our 2 year old boy, booked the junior suite, and arrived to find a cot put up for our little one. The room itself was very clean and tastefully decorated, with a side view of the sea. The bed clothes were of excellent quality, along with the toiletries. Little touches that stood out.

We found a few of the boutique type hotel/B&B's would not allow toddlers, but that was not the case here, and the guys were happy to accommodate us with a smile.

We would certainly recommend staying here. It's apparent the owners have worked hard to build a great reputation, and once you stay, its easy to see why they have so many rave reviews. Keep up the good work guys.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
It is so nice to read reviews such as yours...It makes it seem all so worthwhile. Thank you for the recommendations and we are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our city very soon.

Thank you

Lee&Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a perfect three night stay at this B&B. The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to the seafront and pier. We cannot fault the quality and cleanliness of the hotel. The owners Lee and Marcus were excellent hosts and made our stay in Brighton even more enjoyable. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Lee and Marcus for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sira91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Amherst and we hope to see you both again very soon.

Thank you
Lee& Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in August and were absolutely delighted. The hotel is clean, beautifully decorated, cosy & has an incredibly welcoming & chilled out atmosphere.
The room was extremely comfortable, with a beautiful side view of the sea & and a great choice of teas,coffees, mini bar treats etc.

Lee & Marcus were extremely friendly & accommodating with a clear passion for what they do. Parking is easy & relatively cheap for Brighton with details of where to park explained very well. Breakfast options were also great, with cooked breakfast made specifically for you.


Amazing value for money, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay here whenever visiting Brighton from now on.
Thank you Lee & Marcus! x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeniebeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Love the title! it was so good to have you as our guests and thank you for the fabulous comments. we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it makes everything so worthwhile.

See you both soon

Marcus & Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

What a delightful hotel, so close to everything but lovely and quiet. Lee and Marcus were so helpful we could not fault their service, the quality and cleanliness of the room and the breakfast which was delicious. Only stayed one night and were upgraded to another room (but I am sure given the standard of the hotel the first room would of been perfectly fine), but we will definitely return again. Thank you Lee and Marcus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your great comments and for being our guests. We are proud of what we do and reading a gorgeous revieew like that makes it so worthwhile.

We hope to see you soon.

Lee & Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#6 of 94 in Brighton
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#38 of 94 in Brighton
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Property: Amherst Brighton
Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing