We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation with a personal touch!”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #38 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great accomodation with a personal touch!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It is the personal touch that makes Amherst so good.

The hosts were excellent throughout our two day stay. They were clearly interested in making our stay as comfortable as possible and they succeeded.

The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast spot on, the location perfect, etc, etc.

When we return to Brighton we will return to Amherst.

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words, we are happy that your stay here was very enjoyable and everything went perfectly well for you. We look forward to seeing you both on your next stay!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    45
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
189
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Not one thing to fault. Great room at an excellent price. The location in Kemptown couldn't have been better. The host were exceptionally accommodating, welcoming and generous with the champagne as we started our day out. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynos25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a splendid review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year, or before!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very good location for shops & seafront, hosts were excellent & friendly. Can't fault the place, very clean, the bedrooms were well appointed (comfortable bed). The breakfast was first class, well cooked, well presented (served on hot plates). I can thoroughly recommend The Amherst, we will stay here again on our next visit to Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation it really means a lot to us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as a get away and is was perfect. Markus and Lee made us feel very welcome and helped with any questions we had. The room was clean and modern as well as the hotel being in a great location. Breakfast was tasty. Overall I would recommend this B&B to anyone and will go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Great appreciation for taking the time to write such kind words. We really enjoyed you staying here as our guests and hope you return soon.

Thank you again

Lee&Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ideally located for the bank holiday music festival I was attending at the Concorde 2 venue on the sea front.

The owner Lee and his staff were all very friendly and helpful during my stay.

Modern interior - bedroom had free wifi, tv with dvd, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge with free goodies and a mini bar.

Bed was large and very comfortable.

Lee was very apologetic that my tv was not working - I received free fried breakfasts and a bottle of wine as recompense.

Seeing the ear plugs on the bedside table, I was initially worried about night time noise, but both nights there were very quiet.

The fried breakfast option was very good - individually prepared for your required dining time.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to any friends staying in Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your great review and recommendations it really does mean a lot to us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you return to our fabulous city.

Hope to see you soon

Marcus&Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It was still lovely - a very warm welcome and really quick response to emails when I had some questions. Much was the same as before - we booked a junior suite and like before lovely and big, fabulous bed and bathroom with all the facilities and extras you could hope for. Ear plugs provided to help ease the noise of the seagulls. One big change was a real disappointment - the charge of £4 to have breakfast served in the room (the thing we commented on as being a favourite feature last visit!) We ate in the dining room instead and had the complimentary continental breakfast. It was very nice - although I did not like having my crunchy nut cornflakes served to me in a bowl (and poured from some unknown box in the kitchen - not sure they were Kellogg's). An improvement on last time was the availability of on street parking vouchers - £10 for 24 hours (we arrived just after midday and had parking until 1pm the next day) which is such good value in Brighton.

Room Tip: Be mindful that the building is over several floors - we were in a junior suite, rm 7 and it was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalierankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
It is so nice to welcome back guests to our little gem by the sea..It seems to tell us we are doing something right!

It was a pleasure to have you stay again and hopefully were see you for a third time!

Thanks again.

Lee&Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at this B&B four four nights. The guys that run the Amherst are delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The location of the guest house was perfect, with the beach six doors away, and the antique shops at the other end of the short road. The centre of Brighton is easily accessible and and the pier a five minute stroll away. As for our room, well, spot on. Well decorated, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. All in all, impressive - a definite revisit required. Thanks Guys! Zoe & Paul

Room Tip: Don't ask for room three, it's MINE!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We are so delighted you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us...We feel this the whole point of coming away for a couple of days and we are glad you enjoyed it.

it would be great to see you again very soon.

Marcus&Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White House
The White House
#17 of 93 in Brighton
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#23 of 93 in Brighton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.2 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#41 of 93 in Brighton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Property: Amherst Brighton
Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing