We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #39 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 (sorry this review is late!), had the most amazing time. The boys were all very welcoming and helpful with all our questions on the city.

It was my husbands birthday and they had even put a Happy Birthday banner up in the room!! and gave us some complimentary wine to mark the occasion. Very kind!!

We were really impressed with the room (junior suite), it had all modern fittings and the most comfy bed ever!! Black out curtains really helped have a nice lie in too!!

The breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever had when staying in a hotel or B&B!! Though would like to be able to pick it in the morning rather than the night before as we were quite stuffed from eating out in the evening and the last thing you want to think about is breakfast! :) But this is my only niggle.

All in all definitely the best B&B in Brighton and will definitely stay here again when we go back to the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Amherst, the owners were lovely and really helpful. The room wasn't massive but it was nicely decorated and very clean and had everything we needed. The hotel has character so go careful if you struggle with stairs (quite narrow), and is in a great location right near the seafront and walking distance to the town.
Parking is a pain but the chaps were happy to advise Re the street parking and we had a permit for some of our stay
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgewina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the amherst for the first time whilst in brighton for a weekend celebrating a special birthday. We were given 110% hospitality from the moment we arrived from carrying our bags to the room and help with parking. We stayed in room 6, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in. In the room there was complimentary crisps, water, biscuits & tea & coffee which was great. There was the added option of buying beer, wine or soft drinks that were stocked in the fridge.
Breakfast was superb, fruit juice, cereal, toast and fresh fruit all included which set us up for the day. If you wanted a cooked brekkie then you could order this too at an extra cost. Marc & lee were fantastic hosts & made us very very welcome. We will definitely be staying here again & would recommend without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Fabulous comments thank you so much. Really does mean a lot to us to hear our guests have a great time.

See you when the weather improves!

Lee&Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for one night last minute for New Year and could not have made a better choice! We have stayed at various places in Brighton previously but this will be the top of our list for any future visits. Great location, not on the doorstep of a main road and just far enough from the hustle and bustle, yet only 3-4 minutes walk from the pier. The owners could not have been any more helpful, accommodating and welcoming. We stayed in a junior suite which was clean, well equipped and the attention to detail is unprecedented. The only tip I would give is to book for more than 1 night because you won't want to leave!!!

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms but I would definitely recommend a suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Owner at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and kind words, we are very happy that you had an excellent new year's eve with us and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A comfortable and extremely welcoming Guest House, in a great location - stayed in room 7 - stylish décor, comfortable bed, thought I was at home! I want the wallpaper!

A few of us stayed to attend a wedding in Brighton, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Shan was a trooper always seeing if we had everything we wanted at breakfast which was first class - and he carried my somewhat heavy case (well you never now which shoes to wear, so bring them all!) to the near top floor - wonderful!

Lovely and warm when we came home late, the small touches in the bedrooms were so well thought out, will be recommending the Amherst to friends when visiting Brighton, and I would definitely stay here again, without hesitation.

Thanks for making it a memorable and special trip for our family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17sarah_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed in the a large double at front of building:
Pros: Great location; Very friendly and welcoming staff; Soft comfortable bed with sparkling white bed linen; No shortage of lights both task, mood and fairy!; Lovely decor; Very modestly priced mini-bar; Exceptional breakfast; Proper toiletries - no silly mini soap!; Loads of extra thoughtful touches.
Cons: Ummmm none!
We'll have to make an excuse to come back again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Stairs might be a problem for some!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedRoseLaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Okay. Its not the Ritz. So what? It's a wonderful B&B with magnificent hosts. We stayed for three nights (Room No 3, 31.10. - 2.11.) and were more than happy. The two guys are marvelous, gentle, friendly, very helpful and - yes - fun, too. They make you feel at home. Breakfast was delicious. Our room was spacious and we liked the wallpaper (red, flowers), the bed, little things like free bottled water, cookies and great soap/shampoo. Perfect for shopping and sightseeing. Everything in walking distance with great restaurants just around the corner (Anatolian Café, Sawadee and some Pizza Brasserie). Parking was no problem - found a space 50 metres from Amherst. Will be back and recommend it.

Room Tip: Room Number 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherstbrighton, Manager at Amherst Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind kind words.
We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations.

Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL"

We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Thank you again for taking time out to place a review.

Kind regards the boys at Amherst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#20 of 95 in Brighton
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#44 of 95 in Brighton
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#43 of 95 in Brighton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Guest House
Four Seasons Guest House
#41 of 95 in Brighton
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#23 of 95 in Brighton
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#9 of 95 in Brighton
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing