We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous As Ever!”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #39 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just returned from my 3rd, and yet another fabulous stay at Amherst B&B in Brighton. Yet again Lee and Marcus bent over backwards to make our stay the best it could be. The quality of the rooms and breakfast's remains excellent. Our stay was full of so much fun and laughter with many of the guests, everyone feeling comfortable and relaxed to socialise due to how generous, warm, sociable and amusing Lee and Marcus are. Thank you again for a wonderful stay and hopefully see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Amherst Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent welcome, lovely clean room, modern decor and really comfy bed. The Amherst provided everything we wanted for a short break and is just a few minutes walk from the Pier and attractions of the town centre. I would definitely recommend the Amherst to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Brighton many times, but first time at the Amherst. Very good atmosphere, very clean and very near the seafront and activities. Staff professional and owners just great, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Dade & Betty Scott-Dade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location close to town, easy walk to every where. The room was clean and tidy as well as a good size. Mark and Lee where wonderful greeted us before we even set step inside the door!! They where very helpful and informative with the best places to visit and how to get there. Would absolutely go back there and recommend anyone else to go there to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Courtney_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a very trying journey (M25!) we were greeted on arrival by Marc,who promptly carried our bags from the car after giving me very clear and informative instructions on parking (on the main coastal road). The location is fabulous and Amherst is easy to find. Our room was nice and the little extra touches were very much appreciated, there was a mini fridge, complete with wine , beer, soft drinks (extra charge). Complimentary crisps, biscuits, tea coffee etc was just a bit more than you would usually get in similar establishments. There were ear plugs on the bedside table but we weren't sure why they were provided as it was one of the quietest rooms we have stayed in! Breakfast was very satisfactory (we had continental) and the staff were very attentive offering top ups and more toast etc, nice. Overall we were very pleased to find a nice place to stay in Brighton and no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorsue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just back from another short stay at this fab little B&B.
It felt like home from home & we were very happy to be staying again.
Again a very warm welcome, checking in is very smooth, room/ensuite were spotless. Lots of lovely touches, box of tissues, cotton buds, complimentary bottled water, crisps, biscuits, as well as tea, coffee & hot chocolate. Fresh milk available if you ask. Mini fridge in room with other goodies you can purchase if you like (wine, beer, Galaxy!!)
Excellent continental breakfast is in with the price. I phoned direct & made my booking after checking prices online.
Location is great as 2 minutes & you are on the sea front near the Pier, there are loads of lovely bars & eateries, plus the Lanes & Western Road are about a 15 minute walk with lots of small shops to look in on the way.
All in all a lovely B&B with friendly staff & owners, so thank you once again Marc & Lee.
Probably be back mid September.
Cathy & Kevin xx

Room Tip: We like the front suites as they are spacious & you get a side view of the sea from the bay wind...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner stayed at this B&B and was pleasantly surprised how close to the local attractions the hotel was. A short two minute walk you were on the seafront and 5-7 mins near many of the popular clubs.
Our room was on the top floor, so it can be a bit of a trek to walk up some 6 flights of stairs (especially if you've had one too many!) but the room was compact, yet comfortable. All the usual amenities were available in the room and complimentary breakfast (continental) was available in the morning if you could make it.
We went once for breakfast and found it good.
The place overall is well decorated and looks great. It also is very quiet so very little disturbance, except for the seagulls in the morning.
One bit of advice would be to use the earplugs if you are in one of the higher rooms. The seagulls wake up early and then go to wake you up aswell..
Saying this I would recommend this to our friends and would like to thank the guys at the hotel for making us feel very welcome.
Thankyou

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Del2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 94 in Brighton
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#43 of 94 in Brighton
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#57 of 94 in Brighton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#41 of 94 in Brighton
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#6 of 94 in Brighton
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina by the Sea B&B
Marina by the Sea B&B
#26 of 94 in Brighton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing