We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Amherst Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Brighton
Ranked #38 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We made a last-minute booking for Amherst, and found that it definitely lived up to the excellent reviews. We were made to feel very welcome, and were pleased to be given an upgrade to a junior suite on arrival. The room was very pleasant and well-appointed, and Lee and Marcus were very friendly hosts throughout our stay. The hotel is also in a great location for town centre, beach, pier and restaurants. We would definitely recommend this to others. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Droid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

2nd time of staying at this wonderful place. I have to agree with many others who have stayed at the Amherst. The owners Lee and Marcus are excellent hosts. From the moment I walked into the Amherst the service you get from them is worthy of a 5* hotel. I was greeted and shown to our Junior Suite (Room 5). Rooms are spotless, large and very comfortable and have Ocean views. The location is perfect 2-3 minutes to the beach and again only 2-3 minutes walk to bars and nightlife. If your thinking of staying in Brighton do not bother going anywhere but here.
Already booked for next year and cannot wait to see the familiar faces of the hosts and the other regulars once again!
Thanks again Marcus and Lee for a fantastic stay. Roll on August 2015. ( hopefully we will see you before then )

Room Tip: Junior Suites 3 / 5 and 7 - Sea Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mrchips28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just returned from my 3rd, and yet another fabulous stay at Amherst B&B in Brighton. Yet again Lee and Marcus bent over backwards to make our stay the best it could be. The quality of the rooms and breakfast's remains excellent. Our stay was full of so much fun and laughter with many of the guests, everyone feeling comfortable and relaxed to socialise due to how generous, warm, sociable and amusing Lee and Marcus are. Thank you again for a wonderful stay and hopefully see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent welcome, lovely clean room, modern decor and really comfy bed. The Amherst provided everything we wanted for a short break and is just a few minutes walk from the Pier and attractions of the town centre. I would definitely recommend the Amherst to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Brighton many times, but first time at the Amherst. Very good atmosphere, very clean and very near the seafront and activities. Staff professional and owners just great, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Dade & Betty Scott-Dade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location close to town, easy walk to every where. The room was clean and tidy as well as a good size. Mark and Lee where wonderful greeted us before we even set step inside the door!! They where very helpful and informative with the best places to visit and how to get there. Would absolutely go back there and recommend anyone else to go there to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Courtney_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a very trying journey (M25!) we were greeted on arrival by Marc,who promptly carried our bags from the car after giving me very clear and informative instructions on parking (on the main coastal road). The location is fabulous and Amherst is easy to find. Our room was nice and the little extra touches were very much appreciated, there was a mini fridge, complete with wine , beer, soft drinks (extra charge). Complimentary crisps, biscuits, tea coffee etc was just a bit more than you would usually get in similar establishments. There were ear plugs on the bedside table but we weren't sure why they were provided as it was one of the quietest rooms we have stayed in! Breakfast was very satisfactory (we had continental) and the staff were very attentive offering top ups and more toast etc, nice. Overall we were very pleased to find a nice place to stay in Brighton and no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorsue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Brighton

Address: 2 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amherst Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amherst Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing