We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Fab as name suggests!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fab Guest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fab Guest
Ranked #16 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ilminster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as Fab as name suggests!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Oh dear! I seem to be out of step with the other reviewers. It is undoubtedly a lovely place, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean but, I guess it just isn't the right place for me. I actually like being greeted by someone in person and although the system of giving you door & room code etc by text was very efficient with very friendly texts from Monique, I missed the personal touch of being welcomed.

I also found it to be rather expensive at £75 for a single room with no breakfast. I wouldn't have booked if I had realised there was no food! I also found the fact that there was no tea & coffee in the room very unsatisfactory in that I had to get showered and dressed in the morning before I could have a cup of tea! So although many things were lovely & the bed was super comfortable I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    55
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
118
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I can only reiterate all that has been said previously. The Fab Guest has been decorated beautifully, it is clean and the rooms are well laid out. The owners are friendly and helpful providung us with suggestions on places to eat when asked. Instead of the tea & coffee being in the rooms it is located in a lovely downstairs sitting area which encourages guests to mix. Great idea it meant we got talking to others guests and swapped information instead of scurrying to our rooms. The guest house is near Kemp Town which is a lively and interesting area of Brighton and only took about 10 mins to walk to the Pavillion and the Lanes. All in all I thoroughly recommend staying here it will certainly enhance you visit to Brighton.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Fab, the room was clean, beautifully furnished the showers we're awesome! The code key system is unique and works like a dream, if you always have your phone handy you never have to worry about forgetting your keys! The owners we're very welcoming, friendly and have seriously incredible taste in decor. I can't recommend staying here enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_draws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a two night stay. We had purchased a deal from an online voucher site and must say it was most definitely better than good value for money. The whole place was FAB!!! It was clean and decorated very well. The device is brilliant, you ask for something and its at your door within minutes. Definitely will be visiting again soon and the owner was a great host!!! Looking forward to our next visit to Brighton now. Breakfast was FAB! Afternoon tea was FAB! Out stay was FAB! ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Can on reiterate the recent reviews , my wife and I stayed for a weekend in early March 2014 , Fab rooms, Fab breakfast, Fab location, Fab owners, Fab Guest House , lovely place to stay in Brighton ..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights. I bought a deal which included the two nights, one breakfast in bed and tea at a nearby tea room.
Our room was comfortable but small, and very modern.
No kettle in the room, but free tea and coffee provided downstairs. We were on the second floor.
Car parking can be quite a problem in Brighton as to park in many of the roads you need a Resident's parking permit.
We were e- mailed the code for our room and front door before we arrived.

Room Tip: Make sure you are able to climb the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Came to Fab for a weekend break and it has been an excellent weekend.

The hotel is very clean, well decorated and the owners and staff are very accommodating and friendly.

The hotel has no reception, which is great if you are arriving late and you will receive a code to enable you to access the house and your room. If you have any problems, you only need to send a text message and your problem will be sorted out.

The house has wifi, complimentary coffee and tea and you can access the tea and coffee anytime.

If you find stairs difficult, I would advice saying when you book as some of the rooms require a number of stairs. We stayed in Room 13 and the room was excellent. When we stay again we will book a kingsize room as we like more space.

We will be returning soon! We would recommend Fab to anybody, the location is excellent and you will receive a warm welcome.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fab Guest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fab Guest

Property: Fab Guest
Address: 9 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fab Guest 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden behind a powder grey Georgian exterior on a quiet Kempston Town Street lies our designated B&B with a style that rolls straight from the pages of Wallpaper (The Independent). The pared- back hipster chic of Shoreditch has arrived at the shore in the former of Fab Guest. Our 14 rooms are staggered over five floors. While most err on the small side, they are extremely well designed and comfortable. You might want to check our Fab room if you are after something quite different from the norm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fab Guest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing