We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brighton House
Ranked #13 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I had a fantastic weekend staying at Brighton House. The room was excellent with a great view of Regency square and the breakfasts were of a high standard and always served with a smile.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Car565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    147
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
254
108
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We booked for three nights over the pride weekend. We had read reviews on trip advisor for this hotel previously, but tried not to get too excited in case we were disappointed. We need not have worried. The room was spotless, and even though we had the small double room we found it had ample room for two people and had a fantastic view of the old pier. The hotel was welcoming and clean with a homely feel made complete by the occasional appearance of Mr Watts the cat !!

Breakfast was a refreshing change from the normal fry up with a selection of organic foods ranging from cereal, a fab superfruit salad and homemade breads to a spread of smoked salmon, cheeses and ham.

We also feel we cannot do a report without mentioning the delicious homemade cakes which magically appeared each afternoon, which was a fantastic touch.

Staff were friendly and polite without being intrusive. We have already booked again for next year and would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — Going home !!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nonihoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The other reviews say it all. We stayed in the room with the four-poster, a little bit pricier, but nice and big and quiet.

Location: perfect, on the front in Regency Square opposite the grandly dilapidated North Pier. Close to everything.

Cleanliness: excellent.

Style/facilities: quite homely, and comfortable. Great shower. Some lovely touches - home-made chocolate cake left out in the afternoon for guests was wonderful! Staff are very helpful, and on our previous visit lent us the mini-fridge for our champagne :)

Breakfast: rather wonderful spread of fruits, cereals, cheeses, smoked fish, meats, hard and soft eggs and loads of other bits and pieces. This isn't a fry-up place - but if you like the 'platter' style of breakfast, you'll love this. Great coffee too.

We will definitely be coming back next time we stay over in Brighton!

  • Liked — Just felt very welcome, with lots of nice touches.
  • Disliked — Nothing! I love this place.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Overall I was very impressed with Brighton House and it's staff - who's service from booking right through to checkout was efficient and friendly. Very nicely presented building inside and out, clean, tidy, nice decor and the rooms were spotless. The room was a little small but I expected that, and for the price very reasonable. The bathroom however, was above my expectations. Breakfast was really nice with a great selection, and although the breakfast room is a little small, I had to share tables, but everyone was very friendly and obviously enjoying their stay. Overall it helped make my first visit to Brighton an enjoyable one, and hopefully it will be the first of many!

  • Liked — The value for money, the breakfast, location and the quality of service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atascadero
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

The minute we arrived we felt instantly relaxed and comfortable.
The receptionist suggested a cup of herbal tea and freshly baked cake (no doubt the 20 hour flight showed on our faces)

After a wonderful sleep on a luxurious bed we came downstairs to a beautiful spread of fresh and organic goodies. I could've stayed all day with my coffee reading the paper in that breakfast room!

Staff impressed us with their knowledge of local attractions and our day was planned, bus times checked and directions given with friendly efficiency.

This property exceeds in position, comfort and cleanliness. We'll definately be back. Thanks Brighton House!

  • Liked — friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — whats the go with the weather in England?
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dullagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Staying at Brighton House has definitely influence the hubby and myself to opt for Bed & Breakfast style accomodation first instead of the usual hotel ones. We did find the room a little small (but we warned) for our liking but apart from that both the room and the toilet were clean and the staff very helpful. I also lurve that they had complimentary fruits for us in our room as well as slices of pie in the kitchen and mags lying around.That just shows how thoughtful they were. Definitely value for money.

We did have a ittle "fire scare" at 3 a.m in the morning and everyone had to wait outside in the cold until the fireman arrived to sort it out ,but the breakfast more than made up for that.

  • Liked — The location, price and good service
  • Disliked — The tiny room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We were welcomed by helpful friendly staff. Our room was on the 3rd level which involved some stair climbing, but the staff brought our bags up for us which was appreciated. Brighton House is located approximately one block back from the sea.

The breakfasts at Brighton House are a continental style buffet, which suited us perfectly. The rooms are well appointed with a good shower, TV as well as amenities such as tea & coffee making facilities. In addition, there was wireless broadband available. There are numerous restaurants nearby including the Regency Tavern which has good restaurant meals.

  • Liked — Helpful friendly staff
  • Disliked — Slightly slopping floors
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Property: Brighton House
Address: 52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Brighton House - an award-winning eco-friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton city centre, in the elegant Regency Square. Our non-smoking hotel offers 16 clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, healthy organic breakfast options, easy parking and seafront views, just minutes from The Brighton Centre, the city’s main conference venue. Our sensitively refurbished historic guest house combines modern hotel comforts with traditional features, and we pride ourselves on offering a bed & breakfast that’s fully up-to-date on green tourism issues. Whether you’re visiting Brighton on business or pleasure, for a short break or longer, try Brighton House Hotel, and be assured of a delightful, warm and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Brighton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing