We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite Place to Stay in Brighton”
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brighton House
Ranked #13 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
egham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favourite Place to Stay in Brighton”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a great location - short walk to The Lanes, bars, restaurants and you can see the sea. The staff are very friendly - as is the cat! The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, the rooms have everything that you need but it's the little touches that make the hotel so welcoming - the hot water bottle ready on the bed, the fresh fruit in the room, a jar of coffee granules rather than packets. Another lovely touch is the homemade cake that guests can help themselves too! The breakfast is fantastic - don't be fooled by the "continental" description - there's fresh fruit, homemade yoghurt, cheeses, meats, eggs, breads, nuts, seeds, you name it and it is delicious! There is also underground parking right in front of the hotel, if you park after 4pm & leave the car park before 11am the next day you are only charged £10. It's a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and it's always nice to hear that the homemade cake went down a treat!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, breakfast will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    147
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
253
102
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in the super kingsize room and it was very nice. Refurb of the communal areas really has helped to spruce the place up. The service was friendly and helpful. Wonderful choice of things to eat for breakfast

Room Tip: Select the super kingsize for a balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially pleased that you noticed the work that went into the communal areas!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is my favourite of Brighton many guest houses. Th rooms are spotless the staff friendly and the breakfast bountiful. Ii would not hesitate to recommend the Brighton house hotel to even my fussiest friends


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed with my partner at Brighton house for 2nd time recently in the four poster bed room. I have a mixed review this time round.

Pros: fantastic location, friendly staff, great organic food selection for breakfast and complimentary cake in the hall.

Cons: no drapes on the four poster bed (we checked on this and apparently new ones are on order), the interior of the room looks a little bit tired and could do with a lick of paint. It also could do with a good deep clean especially around the windows sills.

Overall, we were generally happy with our stay but a little disappointed with the room especially as this supposed to be one of the premium rooms to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review of Brighton House. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay but sorry for hear of your of your disappoint with our Four Poster room. We are closing in January 2014 for a refurbishment to the hotel which will include this room. Our new drapes which are currently being made for us should be hung back then also. I am going to make sure that the housekeeping are aware of your comment regarding the window seals and can only apologise for this.

We sincerely hope that you will chose to return to us in the future and we would like to extend a 20% discount to you if booking direct with us please mention this at the time. We all from Brighton House wish you a happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here. Very welcoming in many ways from helpful and polite staff, full of character building. our room was clean and fresh with comfy bed.
Lots of thought had gone into making our stay comfortable with free mince pies in entrance, newspapers to read, spare mobile phone chargers to borrow and more. The reception area was transformed into tasty buffet breakfast in the morning. Definitely stay again when back in Brighton.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaniSimon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review of Brighton House. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we all wish you a happy 2014 and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at Brighton house for 2nd time recently, once again a relaxing easy going experience, everything done with a smile.

Thanks for the complimentary room upgrade, it was greatly appreciated!!!

Will see you all again soon.

Best wishes Rob and Lisa Lanz

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbydactyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us at Brighton House we look forward to welcoming you back from your 3rd. Have a great Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked a twin room for myself and a friend, so we could have a couple of days shopping in Brighton. This hotel exceeded our expectations, the location was perfect only 2 minutes to the town centre. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we loved Mr Watts, the cat!
Breakfast was plentiful and really good.
We shall definitely be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, General Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of Brighton House. We are all really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,030 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Property: Brighton House
Address: 52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Brighton House - an award-winning eco-friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton city centre, in the elegant Regency Square. Our non-smoking hotel offers 16 clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, healthy organic breakfast options, easy parking and seafront views, just minutes from The Brighton Centre, the city’s main conference venue. Our sensitively refurbished historic guest house combines modern hotel comforts with traditional features, and we pride ourselves on offering a bed & breakfast that’s fully up-to-date on green tourism issues. Whether you’re visiting Brighton on business or pleasure, for a short break or longer, try Brighton House Hotel, and be assured of a delightful, warm and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Brighton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing