We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Brighton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brighton House
Ranked #13 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just what we were hoping for. Lovely room, good beds, good shower room. Great food, with plenty of choice and great staff. Really enjoyed the food. All the staff were friendly and helpful. loved our weekend here.

Room Tip: Pub at rear. quiet noisy when leaving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lligneelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Brighton House. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    147
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
253
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Would thoroughly recommend Brighton house. Situated in a lovely regency square just a few yards from the sea front and within walking distance of the Lanes . Lovely welcome and pleasant well kept interior. Our room whilst not having a view was large well appointed and clean. Breakfast was good with lots on offer and the coffee excellent. Mr Watts - the hotel cat joined guests for breakfast and would occupy your chair when refreshing your plate at the buffet. There was no panic or hassle from the staff when we overslept and appeared late for breakfast! Excellent cake - home baked - greeted us on return from an afternoon of shopping. All the little touches and friendly staff made our stay a treat . Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Perhaps more light could enter the room if the top leaves of the outdoor plant were pruned. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Brighton House. We should mention that if guests aren't too fond of cats, we can distract Mr. Watts with his own breakfast elsewhere, so he doesn't bother you! That said, most people seem to fall in love with him at first sight!

We hope to welcome you back, should you ever decide to return to Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From the moment I arrived, I felt very welcome and completely at home. I can't remember when I last stayed at a Hotel I would describe as Charming, but the Brighton House is exactly that.
Lovely people, comfortably furnished and an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyguest254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staying at Brighton House was a true pleasure. Everyone was very friendly and helpful there. The house was quiet and breakfast was really enjoyable, especially the fresh fruit salad. We appreciated the fact that we could use a fan in the room. We also enjoyed the presence of Mr Watts, the cat of the house.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Brighton House for your long weekend. We hope you enjoyed the Pride weekend as much as you enjoyed our guest house. We would love to welcome you back in the future, including Mr Watts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finspång
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am very happy with my stay at Brighton House. I thought the breakfast was very good. you could read the newspaper. They offered home baked cake in the evening to take to your room. Very friendly staff. Excellent situation. Near the sea. Good!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna6622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kin words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel twice now and both times have been fantastic. The superior double (room 36) has a balcony and great view of Regency Sq and the old pier and the biggest bed I've ever slept in (big enough for two to starfish). Standard double rooms are also lovely, very clean and come with lots of nice extras like a big selection of teas, fruit basket and free WiFi. Breakfast was tasty and well-presented, a good alternative to the usual greasy fry-up. My only small complaint is that rooms at the front aren't very well insulated from noise - our first stay was in very bad weather and we could hear the hotel sign swinging through the night and rain battering the window, and our second stay was during Pride so it was never going to be quiet, but these factors aren't really a fault of the hotel's and our lovely room, breakfast and service we received from the lovely staff meant it didn't really bother us. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and your rooms. We are sorry the weather wasn't great during your stay but appreciate your understanding. England wouldn't be the same without some extreme weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, Kent, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Situated on Regent's Square at the nicer end of Brighton, Brighton House was the perfect location for a short getaway for the two of us and our pre-teen daughter.

Both rooms were on the first floor. We had the four-poster bedroom at the back of the hotel, very quiet, spacious and comfortable, with a lovely big bathroom and a modern claw-footed tub. The weather was warm, so we appreciated being able to leave the bathroom window open and the fan thoughtfully supplied. Two small suggestions: some sort of table or shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries on, please, and an extension lead for the hairdryer (it wasn't quite long enough to comfortably reach the mirror --- and I'm short!).

Our daughter had the small single with a balcony at the front, which she loved, and it was just steps away from us. Upon leaving, we took a peek in the double room next to it, which also would have suited us very well as it was a surprisingly large ensuite with a king-sized bed and, again, its own balcony. Our visit was mid-week, though, and might be a bit noisier on the Square on a weekend.

The generous cold breakfast buffet was fabulous in variety and quality, with attention paid to sourcing the best of local produce. Honestly, I'd prefer this to a cooked breakfast any day!

The staff were attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Upon check-out they kindly allowed us to leave our bags while we spent the day further exploring the Lanes and the Pavilion. There are many tempting restaurants a very short walk away on Preston Street, and the historic Regents pub is just around the corner.

A side note: Fishy Fishy restaurant on East Street near the Pavilion and Scoop and Crumb (an ice cream extravaganza -- just keep walking down East Street toward the seaside) were both wonderful.

Room Tip: The four-poster bedroom on the first floor at the back was spacious, comfortable, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisUSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton-House, Manager at Brighton House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay and Brighton. The four poster bed room is a lovely room and we are so pleased you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back again in the future where you can take advantage of our returning guest discount and also try our large superior balcony room. Best wishes, the Brighton House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton House

Property: Brighton House
Address: 52 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Brighton House - an award-winning eco-friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton city centre, in the elegant Regency Square. Our non-smoking hotel offers 16 clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, healthy organic breakfast options, easy parking and seafront views, just minutes from The Brighton Centre, the city’s main conference venue. Our sensitively refurbished historic guest house combines modern hotel comforts with traditional features, and we pride ourselves on offering a bed & breakfast that’s fully up-to-date on green tourism issues. Whether you’re visiting Brighton on business or pleasure, for a short break or longer, try Brighton House Hotel, and be assured of a delightful, warm and friendly stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Brighton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing